News Nation Logo

Ind vs WI 2nd T20: India win by 71 runs, clinch series

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 07 Nov 2018, 12:25:18 AM
Ind vs WI 2nd T20 in Lucknow LIVE: Hetmyer out, Khaleel picks two

New Delhi:

The West Indies opted to bowl against India in the second T20  International of the three-match series here Tuesday.  India brought back Bhuvneshwar Kumar in place of Umesh Yadav while the West Indies replaced Rovman Powell with Nicolas Pooran.

India's four-match T20 losing streak against the West Indies ended on Sunday in Kolkata. And in the penultimate game of what has been a disastrous tour for the visitors, India would be favourites to lock the series in their favour. India's last win against the West Indies before Sunday came way back on March 23, 2014 in the World T20 in Bangladesh. With the win at the Eden Gardens, India managed to better their head-to-head record against the reigning world T20 champions to 5-3 now from nine exchanges between 2009 and 2017.

Lucknow is hosting its first international match at the newly-built Bharat Ratna Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, would be eager to see a more dominant performance from the home team, one that's befitting the gulf in quality between the two sides. 

Here's the Full Scoreboard:


India: Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed.

Windies: Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin, Shimron Hetmyer, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Nicholas Pooran, Carlos Brathwaite(captain), Fabian Allen, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Oshane Thomas. 

Ind vs WI 2nd T20 in Lucknow | Highlights:

Seventh successive series win for India

That's it! India win by 71 runs and take an unassailable lead of 2-0 in the three match T20I series.

19.5 Overs: J Bumrah to O Thomas (8), 4 runs, 124/9

19.2 Overs: WICKET! K Pierre (1) is out, c & b Jasprit Bumrah, 116/9

18.4 Overs: WICKET! K Paul (20) is out, c Rohit Sharma b Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 114/8

K Yadav to K Paul, Six! In the slot and this is tonked over long on

B Kumar to F Allen, WICKET!!! F Allen is out run out (Krunal Pandya).

B Kumar to D Ramdin, WICKET!!! D Ramdin is out c Rohit Sharma b Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

10.4 Overs: WICKET! K Pollard (6) is out, c & b Jasprit Bumrah, 68/5. Looks like it will be another one-side game. 

7.6 Overs: WICKET! N Pooran (4) is out, b Kuldeep Yadav, 52/4

WICKET! DM Bravo departs after quickfire 23, c Rohit Sharma b Kuldeep Yadav, 48/3

6.6 Overs: K Pandya to DM Bravo (23), 4 runs, 47/2

WICKET! S Hetmyer (15) is out, c Shikhar Dhawan b Khaleel Ahmed, 33/2

3.6 Overs: K Ahmed to S Hetmyer (10), 4 runs, 23/1

K Ahmed to S Hope, WICKET!!! S Hope is out b Khaleel Ahmed.

0.4 Overs: B Kumar to S Hope (6), 6 runs, 6/0

Innings Break! Batting heroics from the Skipper (111*) as Team India post a total of 195/2 for the Windies to chase.

19.3 Overs: C Brathwaite to RG Sharma (100), 4 runs, 184/2

19 runs off K Pierre's over. After 18 overs, India 167/2

WICKET! Rishabh Pant (5) is out, c Shimron Hetmyer b Khary Pierre, 133/2

Allen to Dhawan, he tries to play a sweep shot, but straight to the fielder. He departs for 43 runs.   

13.2 Overs: F Allen to RG Sharma (71), 6 runs, 119/0

13.1 Overs: F Allen to RG Sharma (65), 6 runs, 113/0

Another 50 for Rohit Sharma, he is on fire

8.5 Overs: C Brathwaite to RG Sharma (38), 4 runs, 77/0

Meanwhile, let's check out this spectacular stadium in Lucknow.

Rohit Sharma goes past Virat Kohli (2,102) to become the leading run-scorer for Team India in T20I.

5.2 Overs: K Pierre to RG Sharma (23), 6 runs, 44/0

3.1 Overs: K Pierre to RG Sharma (8), 4 runs, 15/0

After 1 over, India 0/0. Tight bowling by O Thomas 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Nov 2018, 06:58:11 PM