News Nation Logo


India trounce Australia to win ICC Under 19 World Cup title for record fourth time Live

The Indian Seamer Ishan Porel Made Early Inroads Into The Australian Batting Order By Removing Both The Openers Jack Edwards And Max Bryant. Speedster Nagakoti Them Dismissed Aussie Skipper Jason Sangha To Leave Their Batting In Tatters.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aishwarya A | Updated on: 03 Feb 2018, 01:53:33 PM

New Delhi:

India defeated Australia in the grand finale in the Under 19 World Cup to win the showpiece event for a record fourth time. The Indians became the first team to win the coveted title four times.

India continued their good run against Australia beating them for the second time in the title clash of the U19 World Cup.

Chasing a paltry total of 216 runs, Indians were given a breezy start by skipper Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra. Against the run of play, the skipper was clean bowled by Sutherland. The in-form Shubman Gill then joined Manjot Kalra to stitch an impressive partnership. Shubman played a handy knock of 31 runs before being dismissed. Wicketkeeper-batsman Harvik Desai then produced a valuable cameo to take India across the finishing line.

Manjot Kalra registered an unbeaten ton to spearhead Indian team across the line and clinch the World Cup title. India remained unbeaten all through the tournament pulling off impressive wins against minnows Papua New Guniea and Zimbabwe.

India has won the Under 19 World Cup thrice, in 2000, 2008, and 2012, while Australia won the cup in 1988, 2002, and 2010.

The Indians continued their impressive form in the knockouts beating Bangladesh in the quarters and trashing arch-rivals Pakistan in the semi-finals.

Check Score here

Here are the updates:

# Shubman Gill named 'Player of the Series'

# Manjot Kalra named 'Player of the Match'

# India creates history! Lifts the Under-19 World Cup Trophy for the fourth time, defeating Australia

# Manjot Kalra scores a stellar ton, leads India towards victory!

# India needs 7 more runs to hold the trophy!

# India edge towards victory, need 13 runs more

# India inches towards victory, need only 39 runs to create history!

# Manjot Kalra all set to make his century!

# India crosses 150 runs mark, Manjot on 76*

# Shubman Gill becomes the second highest runs scorer in Under-19 World Cup with 372 runs. He is preceded by West Indies' Alick Athanaze, who stands at the first position with 418 runs.

# Harvik Desai comes to the crease, India 133/2 after 21.5 overs

# Gill and Manjot's partnership breaks at 60 runs

# Second loss for India as Shubman Gill gets BOWLED!

# Manjot, Gill complete their 50 runs partnership off 46 balls

# India 116/1 after 18 overs

# Manjot Kalra scores his 50 in 47 balls

# Gill, Manjot take India past 100 runs

# Skipper Manjot Kalra's family wishes the team luck, celebrate outside his residence in Delhi

# India near their 100, stand at 97/1 after 15 overs

# Manjot on a hitting spree! SMASHES SIX!

# India 73/1 after 12 overs

# Shubman Gill in line, comes to the crease

# BOWLED! Captain Prithvi Shaw DISMISSED by Sutherland at 29 off 41 balls

# Shaw, Manjot on a spree! Smash back to back FOURS!

# India at 55/0 after 10 overs

# Its a 50 for India! Shaw, Manjot complete 50 runs partnership off 53 balls

# Shaw smashes FOUR! India nears 50 runs

# India 41/0 after 8 overs

# Manjot's on fire! Smashes another FOUR!

# SMASH! Shaw hits a FOUR!

# Play resumes after rain, Shaw, Manjot on the crease

Rain has interrupted play, the players have left the field  

# India are 23 for no loss after 4 overs 

# First signs of rain hovering around the ground

# Indians are getting a momentum 

# Manjot tonks Evans down the ground for a huge SIX

# India are 12 for 0 after 3 overs 

The Indians happy with milking the singles

Hadlee has not been consistent with his line so far

Shaw shows his class with a beautiful cover drive off his legs

# India are four for no loss after 2 overs  

It is a maiden over from Evans

Evans has settled into a good line 

Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra have negotiated the swing well

Evans is getting some movement off the air

Zak Evans to open the Austalian bowling from the other end

# India are four for no loss after the first over

Manjot gets off the mark with a flick off his hips

Prithvi gets the Indian scoreboard ticking with a punch through the covers

Ryan Hadlee has the new ball for the Aussies

The Indian openers Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra come out to bat

# Australia all out for 216, sets a target of 217 to Indian team

# Baxter J Holt DISMISSED!

# Nagarkoti takes his second wicket, DISMISSES Zak Evans

# And its OUT!! Jonathan Merlo is dismissed at 76 by Anukul Roy

# Australia at 210/6 after 45 overs

# Australia cross 200 runs mark after 43 overs

# Baxter J Holt comes to bat

# Shiva Singh gets his second wicket, DISMISSES Will Sutherland, Australia 191/6 

# Will Sutherland comes to the crease, Merlo playing at 64

# OUT! McSweeney DISMISSED by Shiva Singh

# Harvik Desai misses a big catch, Australia reach 179/4 after 39 overs

# Aussies stand at 167/4 after 36 overs

# Anukul Roy comes back into the attack

# Skipper Jonathan Merlo completes his 50 runs off 60 balls

# Australia 148/4 after 31 overs

# Australia 134-4 after 29 overs

# Anukul Roy gives Aussies another blow, dismisses Param Uppal

# Merlo, Param complete a partnership of 73 runs off 100 balls

# Australia 117/3 after 25 overs

# Param SMASHES a FOUR, takes Aussies score to 110/3

# Australia complete 100 runs, down with 3 wickets

# Australia 94/3 after 20 overs

# Australia 87/3 after 18 overs

# Australia at 72/3 after 15 overs

# Big blow for Australia! Captain Jason Sangha departs at Kamlesh Nagarkoti's ball

# Jonathan Merlo comes for strike

# 10 overs into the game, Australia at 52/2

# Jack Edward departs on Ishan Porel's ball, Australia lose their second wicket

# After 9 overs, Australia at 46/1

# Australia at 43/1 after 7 overs

# Jason Sangha comes to bat

# Australia lose their first wicket as Max Bryant departs at Ishan Porel's ball

# Australia at 12/0 after 3 overs

# Opener Max Bryant and Jack Edwards on the field

# Australia won the toss, chose to bat

Squad for the Under-19 World Cup Final:

INDIA- Prithvi Shaw (C), Shubman Gill, Harvik Desai (wk), Aryan Juyal, Manjot Kalra, Himanshu Rana, Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Shivam Manvi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ishan Porel, Anukul Roy, Shiva Singh, Arshdeep Singh, Pankaj Yadav

AUSTRALIA- Jason Sangha (C), Will Sutherland, Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Jack Edwards, Zak Evans, Jarrod Freeman, Ryan Hadley, Baxter J Holt, Nathan McSweeney, Jonathan Merlo, Lloyd Pope, Param Uppal, Austin Waugh

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Feb 2018, 07:01:16 AM