News Nation Logo


MS Dhoni’s ‘Special 300’ in Hamilton T20I adds another feather to his record-breaking cap

MS Dhoni Became The First Indian Player To Play 300 Twenty20 Games During India's Series-deciding Game Against New Zealand In Hamilton.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 10 Feb 2019, 12:54:38 PM
MS Dhoni became the first Indian player to play 300 Twenty20 games in the Hamilton clash against New Zealand. (Image credit: Twitter)


  • MS Dhoni became the first Indian player to play 300 Twenty20 games.
  • Rohit Sharma has played 298 Twenty20 games.
  • India will be aiming to win the T20I series in New Zealand for the first time.

New Delhi:

MS Dhoni has broken so many records in his illustrious career that it is becoming very difficult to keep count. His lightning fast stumpings and his ability to read the game and stay calm in pressure make him one of the most valuable assets in the Indian cricket team. On Sunday, during the Hamilton ODI, MS Dhoni entered a special 300-club in the Twenty20 format. The former India skipper became the first Indian player to play 300 Twenty20 games. In his Twenty20 playing career, he has played for Jharkhand, Chennai Super Kings and Rising Pune Supergiant in the Indian Premier League apart from T20Is for India. Rohit Sharma is the other Indian batsman who has played the most Twenty20 games with 297 games.

Both Rohit and Dhoni have played in the least number of teams in this format. Rohit has played for India A, Deccan Chargers, Mumbai and Mumbai Indians and he has a chance to enter the 300-club during the 2019 Indian Premier League which will be played in March 2019. Dhoni is the 13th player to play over 300 games in this format.

Kieron Pollard of the West Indies has played in the most Twenty20 games in history with 446. Pollard is followed by Dwayne Bravo, who recently announced his international retirement. Pollard and Bravo are the only players in history to have played over 400 Twenty20 games with Bravo the only bowler to take over 450 wickets in this format. Brendon McCullum has played 370 games and is nearing 10000 runs but the former New Zealand skipper will announce his retirement after the end of the Big Bash League in Australia.

Chris Gayle (369) is still going strong with over 12000 runs at an average of close to 40 with a staggering 21 centuries. Shoaib Malik (335), Ryan ten Doeschate (328), Dwayne Smith (326), Albie Morkel (318), Ravi Bopara (317), Sunil Narine (314), Sohail Tanvir (308) and Luke Wright (300) are the other players to enter this prestigious club. Tanvir and Malik are the only Pakistan players in this club while ten Doeschate is the only player from the non-Test playing nations to feature in this list.

Dhoni will be hoping to help India win a series in New Zealand for the first time as India look to end their international sojourn on the ultimate high.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 10 Feb 2019, 12:53:34 PM