News Nation Logo

Ranji Trophy Round-Up: Tamil Nadu Lose Again, Jammu And Kashmir And Vidarbha Win

Tamil Nadu Suffered Their Second Consecutive Defeat In The Ranji Trophy As They Lost To Himachal Pradesh While Vidarbha, The Defending Champions And Jammu And Kashmir Won Their Respective Games.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 20 Dec 2019, 05:00:59 PM
Karnataka, who had defeated Tamil Nadu in the first game, were held to a draw by Uttar Pradesh in Hubbali.

New Delhi:

Tamil Nadu's woes in the ongoing Ranji Trophy season have been compounded with their second straight loss in the tournament. After losing to Karnataka in a thriller, Tamil Nadu suffered a major loss by losing to Himachal Pradesh in Dindigul by 71 runs. The hosts never recovered after being bowled out for 96 and it was once again continued a sorry tale with their batting despite the presence of India players like Abhinav Mukun and Ravichandran Ashwin. Ashwin's five-wicket haul had bowled Himachal Pradesh out for 158 but Tamil Nadu suffered a spectacular implosion to be bowled out for 96. Ashwin took four wickets again but Himachal Pradesh set them a target of 217. In the second innings, Akash Vashist was in top form as he took 7/33 to bowl Tamil Nadu out for 145.

Vidarbha Win, Heartbreak for Madhya Pradesh

Yusuf Pathan and Krunal Pandya held their nerve to help Baroda beat Madhya Pradesh by one wicket in the Ranji Trophy clash on Friday. In a low-scoring match that had twists and turns consistently, Madhya Pradesh were bowled out for 125 with Anureet Singh, Lukman Meriwala and Soyeb Sopriya taking three wickets apiece. Madhya Pradesh set Baroda a target of 174 and despite a burst from Avesh Khan, Baroda held their nerve to win by one wicket. In Jamtha, centuries from Faiz Fazal. Mohit Kale and Akshay Wadkar helped Vidarbha reach 510/8 declared but Umesh yadav's five-wicket haul and Aditya Sarwate's four wickets helped the two-time champions register an innings win.

Great Win For Jammu And Kashmir, Delhi Lose

Jammu and Kashmir secured an important win against Maharashtra as they won by 54 runs in Pune. Ahmed Banday's 76 and Umar Nazir Mir's 5/30 helped Jammu and Kashmir take a 100-run lead. Suryansh Raina and Abdul Samad smashed fifties as Maharashtra were set a target of 364. Mohammed Mudhasir and Umar Mir combined to take four wickets apiece as Maharashtra lost by 54 runs. Jharkhand, Goa, Odisha, Haryana, Chhatisgarh and Nagaland all secured innings victories while Karnataka drew their game against Uttar Pradesh in Hubli.

Also ReadHeartbreak For Madhya Pradesh In Ranji Trophy, Lose By One Wicket To Baroda

Delhi, finalists in the 2017 Ranji Trophy, were blown away by the discipline of Andhra's players as they lost by nine wickets. Lalit Yadav hit fifty but KV Sasikanth took 5/38. Ricky Bhui's brilliant 144 overcame a brilliant effort from Navdeep Saini who took 5/86 as Andhra took a 151-run lead.Yadav hit fifty again but Sasikanth took his second five-wicket haul and finished with 10 in the match as Andhra chased down 20 with the loss of one wicket.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 Dec 2019, 05:00:59 PM