News Nation Logo

Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami Rested For Upcoming T20i, ODI Squad Against Lanka, Aussies

Indian Opener Rohit Sharma And Pacer Mohammed Shami Have Been Rested For The Upcoming T20i, And One Day International Series Against Sri Lanka And Australia Starting From January 5, 2020.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Assem Sharma | Updated on: 23 Dec 2019, 05:15:12 PM
Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami Rested For Upcoming T20i, ODI Squad Against Lanka, Aussies

New Delhi:

Indian opener Rohit Sharma and pacer Mohammed Shami have been rested for the upcoming T20i, and One Day International Series against Sri Lanka and Australia starting from January 5, 2020. Jasprit Bumrah and Shikhar Dhawan to make return to the squad for the upcoming games. 

Rohit Sharma on Sunday got out for a run-a-ball 63 at the Barabati Stadium, he aggregated 2442 runs. The batsman scored 10 hundreds across formats and as many half centuries in the year, averaging 53.08 in 47 innings.

Rohit went past the former Sri Lanka captain's record when he took a single off a Sheldon Cottrell delivery. Among the other notable openers, who had good seasons are Virender Sehwag (2355 runs) in 2008 and Matthew Hayden (2349 runs) in 2003.

Rohit ended the year as the No.1 batsman in ODIs, finishing with 1490 runs in 28 games at an average of 57 with seven centuries. Kohli was not far behind and he ended with 1377 runs at an average of 59 in 26 games with five centuries.

Recently, Mohammed Shami once again showed his class in the second innings as he took 4/31. Shami, along with Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav, took 14 out of the 20 Bangladesh wickets in Indore and this has been him jump in the ICC Test rankings. Shami's bowling figures of 3/27 and 4/31 lifted him eight places to seventh position.

His 790 rating points are the third best for an India pace bowler with only Kapil Dev (877) and Jasprit Bumrah (832) having recorded more points.

Meanwhile, Virat kohli-led Team India to face Sri Lanka for the three-match T20I series starting from January 5 to 10 and then Men In Blue to play three ODI matches against Australia beginning from January 14.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Dec 2019, 04:57:34 PM