News Nation Logo


Shikhar Dhawan to replace injured Murali Vijay for Sri Lanka Test tour

The BCCI Has Announced That Shikhar Dhawan Will Replace Injured Opener Murali Vijay For The Upcoming Tour Of Sri Lanka. Vijay Is Suffering From A Wrist Injury And Will Need To Undergo Rehabilitation.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 17 Jul 2017, 04:09:28 PM
Shikhar Dhawan

New Delhi:

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan will replace injured Murali Vijay for the upcoming Test series in Sri Lanka from July 26. Vijay has suffered a wrist injury and will undergo a rehabilitation program before being eligible for selection.

India is set to undertake a three-Test series tour of the island nation and the squad consists of seven batsmen, five fast bowlers, three spinners and one wicket-keeper.

Dhawan’s scintillating form in the recently concluded Champions Trophy and the 2017 IPL makes him an automatic selection for the tour. KL Rahul will be his opening partner whereas Abhinav Mukund has been chosen for the reserve opener’s role.

The BCCI confirmed the news through a media release. "The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Monday named Shikhar Dhawan as the resplacement for injured Murali Vijay in the Test team, which is scheduled to travel to Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series.

ALSO READ: Zimbabwe defeat Sri Lanka in Hambantota ODI, clinch ODI series

The three-member selection committee has chosen a three-member squad and Rohit Sharma and all-rounder Hardik Pandya have booked their spots for the tour. The four pacers Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami were automatic selections.

Ravindra Jadeja and R Ashwin will be the first choice spinners whereas Chinaman spinner Kuldeep Yadav too has been chosen for the tour on account of his superb performances against Australia and West Indies.

India will play the first Test at Galle from July 26, followed by second Test at Colombo from August 3 and the final Test at Kandy from August 12.


Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Jul 2017, 03:49:00 PM