News Nation Logo

Sri Lanka appoint Thisara Perera ODI, T20I captain for series against India

Sri Lankan Cricket Board Has Named Thisara Perera As Limited-overs Captain For The Upcoming Series (3 ODIs, 3 T20Is) Against India. Thisara Will Take Over The Captaincy From Upul Tharanga, Who Suffered Three 0-5 Whitewashes In His Tenure As Skipper Of The National Side In 2017.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 29 Nov 2017, 05:43:38 PM
Thisara Perera - File Photo

New Delhi:

Sri Lankan cricket board has named Thisara Perera as limited-overs captain for the upcoming series (3 ODIs, 3 T20Is) against India. Thisara will take over the captaincy from Upul Tharanga, who suffered three 0-5 whitewashes in his tenure as skipper of the national side in 2017.

Tharanga had stepped in for the injured Angelo Mathews in South Africa, where Sri Lanka was whitewashed. After Mathews had stepped down after a shocking defeat in hands of Zimbabwe at home, Tharanga was named the captain. 

He started his full-time tenure with two consecutive 0-5 whitewashes against India (at home) and Pakistan (in UAE). Even the threat of not gaining a direct 2019 World Cup qualification had loomed over Sri Lanka for a while. However, apart from the losses, Tharanga also earned got a suspension from the ICC as he was involved in slow over rates on three separate occasions.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 29 Nov 2017, 05:42:09 PM

Related Tags:

Sri Lanka Thisara Perera