News Nation Logo

Steven Smith replaces Aaron Finch as T20 skipper in World T20

Australia’s T20 Skipper Aaron Finch Has Been Removed As National Captain For The Upcoming World T20 In India In March. The Left Handed Batsman Was Replaced By Test And One-Day International Skipper Steven Smith.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pankaj Samantray | Updated on: 09 Feb 2016, 09:42:36 AM

New Delhi:

Australia’s T20 skipper Aaron Finch has been removed as national captain for the upcoming World T20 in India in March. The left handed batsman was replaced by Test and One-Day International skipper Steven Smith.

Finch was named the T20 captain in October 2014 and Smith took over the reins after Michael Clarke retied from ICC World Cup and Ashes series in England.

Recently, Australia lost all the three T20 against India and it was first time in 140 years the home team was white washed.    

The selectors brought another rabbit from the hat as they named Test wicket keeper Peter Nevill as Matthew Wade's replacement for the mega event. Nevill, who is yet to play limited-overs cricket for Australia, received his maiden call after Wade failed to score runs.

The selectors picked young spinners Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa, ahead of Nathan Lyon and Cameron Boyce, while Josh Hazlewood will spearhead the pace attack for kangaroos.

Finch and James Faulkner, who are nursing hamstring injuries, and pacer Nathan Coulter-Nile, out due to a shoulder strain, have all been picked subject to medical clearance.

Australian squad: Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Shane Watson, Steve Smith (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Peter Nevill, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Aaron Finch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ashton Agar, Andrew Tye  

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Feb 2016, 09:40:00 AM