News Nation Logo

One Bangalore Blasters Player, Batting Coach Arrested In Karnataka Premier League Match-Fixing Probe

Bangalore Blasters Bowling Coach Vinu Prasad And Batsman Vishwanathan Have Been Arrested In The Ongoing Probe Into Match-fixing During The Karnataka Premier League

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 25 Oct 2019, 02:28:05 PM
One Bangalore Blasters player, including the batting coach have been arrested in the ongoing Karnataka Premier League T20 match-fixing scandal.

New Delhi:

Bangalore Blasters bowling coach Vinu Prasad and batsman Vishwanathan have been arrested in the ongoing probe into match-fixing during the Karnataka Premier League. The arrests come as the probe into match-fixing in the recent Karnataka Premier League Twenty20 tournament widens. The Central Crime Branch (CCB) in Bangalore arrested the two persons after revelations that the duo were accused of fixing the match between Bangalore Blasters and Belagavi Panthers. A quote by Joint Commissioner of Police (JCP) Sandeep Patil said, "The accused batted slowly for which he got Rs 5 lakh. Few bookies are involved and they will also be arrested," Patil said. The CCB are further probing the case for more details as the match-fixing scandal in the Karnataka Premier League continues to grow deeper.

The developments come after the CCB had arrested one person after an FIR was registered against two bookies. Bhavesh Bafna was one of the persons arrested while Sanyam was absconding. It was reported that the duo had approached the Ballary Tuskers and they had requested one bowler to concede more than 10 runs per over but the bowler refused. In this scandal, the police had arrested Belagavi Panthers' owner Ali for allegedly placing bets with a bookie based in Dubai.

The Karnataka Premier League had witnessed a new world record when at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, there was a dream all-round performance in a Twenty20 match in recent times. The game between Bellary Tuskers and Shimoga Lions, Rajasthan Royals all-rounder Krishnappa Gowtham blasted an unbeaten 134* and contributed 66 percent of Bellary's total of 203/3. Gowtham came back and decimated the Shimoga batting line-up to take 8/15 in four overs to help Bellary Tuskers beat Shimoga Lions by 70 runs courtesy the VJD method. Gowtham's all-round show was simply sensational and it broke plenty of world records.

Also Read134 runs, 8/15 in a Twenty20 - Krishnappa Gowtham becomes one-man demolition army in Karnataka Premier League T20

The Hubli Tigers were crowned the 2019 Karnataka Premier League champions as they defeated Ballari Tuskers by eight runs to win the tournament at the SDNR Wadiyar stadium. Devdutt Padikkal (68) and CM Gautam (29) had kept Ballari Tuskers in the game with a fifty and a solid partnership and but superb bowling from the pacers Abhilash Shetty (3/34) and Aditya Somanna (3/24) helped them lift the crown. It was a great final for Somanna, who top scored for Hubli with 47. Hubli Tigers were led by former India player R Vinay Kumar.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Oct 2019, 02:07:40 PM