News Nation Logo

After maiden Ranji title, Vidharbha defeat Madhya Pradesh to clinch U-19 Cooch Behar Trophy

Following The Impressive Performance Of The Senior Side, The U-19 Team Beat Madhya Pradesh On The Basis Of First Innings Lead In The Final.

PTI | Updated on: 01 Feb 2018, 10:17:12 AM
U-19 Cooch Behar Trophy - File Photo

New Delhi:

After clinching their maiden Ranji Trophy earlier this season, Vidarbha recorded continued with their stellar run in first class cricket winning the U-19 Cooch Behar Trophy.

Following the impressive performance of the senior side, the U-19 team beat Madhya Pradesh on the basis of first innings lead in the final.

Captain and opener Atharva Taide led from the front as he struck 320 (483b, 34x4, 1x6) to power Vidarbha to a massive 614 in reply to Madhya Pradesh's first inning total of 289 all out.

With a mammoth 325-run lead, Vidarbha ensured they did not bat again and reduced the Madhya Pradesh side to 176 for 7 in their second innings.

Vidarbha's Darshan Nalkande took four wickets in the first innings while PR Rekhade took three in the second innings. Vidarbha had finished second in the league stage with three wins and as many draws. They beat Karnataka by nine wickets in the quarter-finals before pipping Punjab on first innings lead in the semifinals.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 01 Feb 2018, 10:16:32 AM