News Nation Logo

Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team and their amazing numbers following historic win in Australia

Virat Kohli's Indian Cricket Team Created History By Securing A Series Win In Australia For The First Time Ever Following The Draw In Sydney.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 07 Jan 2019, 11:38:55 AM
Virat Kohli's Indian cricket team created plenty of history in their win over Australia for the first time. (Image credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team finally broke their jinx in Tests Down Under. A draw in Sydney, following their wins in Adelaide and Melbourne, gave Kohli’s side a historic 2-1 series win in Australia. After all the overseas woes in South Africa and England where they lost 1-2 and 1-4 respectively, Kohli’s win Down Under has soothed the pain of previous overseas losses. In the process, Kohli’s side broke plenty of team records as they entered an elite list. For Australia, their tale of woes continued as they continued to suffer without the services of Steve Smith and David Warner, who have been banned for a year due to the ball-tampering scandal in Cape Town. Following the draw in Sydney, here are some of the amazing numbers accumulated by Kohli and his side.

71 – Number of years it has taken for India to win a Test series in Australia. They started touring from 1948 and only won their first Test there 29 years later in 1977/78.

1 – Kohli’s India becomes the first Asian side to win a Test series in Australia. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have never won a Test Down Under while Pakistan has never won a series. In fact, Pakistan has not won a Test in Australia for the last 24 years.

Read MoreThis Test series win greater than 2011 World Cup victory: Virat Kohli

5 – Kohli’s Indian team becomes the fifth team to ever win a Test series Down Under. England has won 13 times while New Zealand has won only once. West Indies and South Africa are the other sides to have achieved success Down Under.

Read More‘History created’, ‘Moment we have waited for’ – Twitter erupts at win

0 – Number of centuries for Australia’s batsmen in the four-Test series, first time in over 100 years that they have suffered this misfortune.

Read MoreVirat Kohli's side create history with maiden series win Down Under

7 – Number of Test wins for India in Australia. For the first time since 1977/78, they won two Tests in a series in Australia.

521 – Number of runs for Cheteshwar Pujara in the four-Test series against Australia, which is his best tally ever.

21 – Number of wickets for Jasprit Bumrah in the series, which is the second-most for an Indian pacer in a series in Australia. Kapil Dev has the most with 25 wickets in the 1991/92 series.

1258 - Number of balls played by Cheteshwar Pujara in this series, which is the most by an Indian in Australia, beating the previous mark set by Rahul Dravid.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Jan 2019, 11:29:16 AM