News Nation Logo


‘History created’, ‘Moment we have waited for’ – Twitter erupts at India’s series win in Australia

Virat Kohli's Indian Cricket Team Became The First Asian Side To Ever Win A Test Series In Australia As They Won The Series 2-1 Following The Draw In Sydney.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 07 Jan 2019, 10:15:06 AM
Virat Kohli's Indian cricket team eliminated 71 years of pain to clinch a maiden series win in Australia. (Image credit: ICC Twitter)

New Delhi:

Virat Kohli’s Indian cricket team achieved a slice of history, just a day after the Indian football team had broken 55 years of pain with a win in the AFC Asian Cup against Thailand. Kohli’s Indian team eliminated 71 years of pain and became the first Indian or Asian side to win a series in Australia after the final day’s play was washed out in Sydney. Ever since 1948, India had never won a series and had managed just five wins in seven decades. However, all the pain was erased when India joined West Indies, England, New Zealand and South Africa to win a series Down Under. The joy in the Indian cricket team was visible during the post-match presentation ceremony, with even Kohli visibly emotional.

The emotion and joy was evident even on Twitter and other social media outlets. The fans and experts did not stop reminding about how monumental and historic the feat was, digging into numbers and also praising the efforts of the Indian cricket team. It must be noted that Virat Kohli’s side had lost the earlier overseas tours to South Africa and England 1-2 and 1-4 respectively and there was plenty of cynicism heading into this series.

Read MoreVirat Kohli’s India break seven decades years of pain, clinch series win in Australia for the first time

However, against a weak Australian side who were missing the services of Steve Smith and David Warner due to the ball-tampering scandal, the Indian team capitalised on the opportunity and ensured they had broken the jinx in three out of the SENA countries (South Africa, England, New Zealand and Australia). With this victory, India have now won Test series in every country barring South Africa, when they blew their chance in 2018 by capitulating tamely in Cape Town and Centurion Tests before winning the final one in Johannesburg. Here are some of the tweets hailing India’s win.

Read More Ricky Ponting blasts Australia for showing ‘no desperation’ in the Sydney Test vs India

India will next play three ODIs against Australia starting on January 12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground. Following the end of this series, they will play five ODIs and three Twenty20 Internationals in New Zealand.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Jan 2019, 10:14:58 AM