News Nation Logo


Virat Kohli seals numero uno spot in Lord's Cricket Ground list featuring top 20 cricketers of 2016

Indian Test Skipper Virat Kohli Was Honored With No. 1 Spot In Lord's Cricket Ground List Featuring Top 20 Cricketers Of 2016

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 25 Dec 2016, 12:29:42 PM
Virat Kohli - File Photo

New Delhi:

After Indian ace off spinner R Ashwin bagged the ICC Cricketer and Test Player of the Year award, Lord's Cricket Ground have followed the trend and selected their 20 international cricketers for the year 2016.

It once again brought delight to the Indian cricket fans as the Indian Test skipper bagged the Number Spot in the elite list featuring the Top 20 players from across the cricketing nations. The official YouTube channel of Lord’s posted a minute long video for each player, highlighting their respective performances for the calendar year.

Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli was honored with No. 1 spot after experiencing a sensational run in 2016 across all the formats of the game.

Virat brought an end to his perfect year with Player of the Series award in the recently concluded Test series with England.

Englishman Jonny Bairstow followed the Indian Test captain while ICC No.1 Test bowler Ravichandran Ashwin came in third ahead of Sri Lankan spin wizard Rangana Herath.

Another English star, Chris Woakes came in 5th ahead of South African fast-bowling prodigy Kagiso Rabada, Joe Root and Quinton de Kock.

Australian speedster Michell Starc was placed 9th ahead of Ben Stokes and Pakistan Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. David Warner, meanwhile, was 12th ahead of Indian middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane, Australian captain Steve Smith, Yasir Shah and Marlon Samuels.

Sri Lankan Kusal Mendis came in 17th ahead of Cheteshwar Pujara, Imran Tahir and Shakib Al Hasan.

Here's how the list goes:-

1. Virat Kohli
2. Jonny Bairstow
3. Ravichandran Ashwin
4. Rangana Herath
5. Chris Woakes
6. Kagiso Rabada
7. Joe Root
8. Quinton de Kock
9. Mitchell Starc
10. Ben Stokes
11. Misbah-ul-Haq
12. David Warner
13. Ajinkya Rahane
14. Steve Smith
15. Yasir Shah
16. Marlon Samuels
17. Kusal Mendis
18. Cheteshwar Pujara
19. Imran Tahir
20. Shakib Al Hasan.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Dec 2016, 11:43:00 AM

Related Tags:

Virat Kohli Lord's