News Nation Logo

FIFA World Cup 2018: Know full groups, schedule, match timing in IST

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 02 Jun 2018, 03:53:16 PM
FIFA World Cup is all set to begin from June 14 in Russia

New Delhi:

The biggest football event – FIFA World Cup is all set to begin from June 14 in Russia. The 21st edition of the mega event is coming back to Europe after a long gap of 12 years, Germany hosted it back in 2006.

32 teams will lock horns over a period of one month to get their hands on the biggest glory in world football.

In 2014, Brazil hosted the footballing extravaganza as Germany became the World Champion by crushing the hopes of millions of Argentina fans by winning 1-0 in the finals. German midfielder Mario Gotze netted the winning goal in the extra time.

Major teams like Brazil, Germany, Argentina, France and Spain look the favourites to win the tournament, with the one-month long event with a total of 64 matches, set to start from June 14.

All the 32 teams are divided into eight groups and each group will consist of four teams each. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Round of 16.

Here is the list of each group of FIFA World Cup 2018.

Group A: Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay  

Group B: Portugal, Spain, Morocco, Iran  

Group C: France, Australia, Peru, Denmark  

Group D: Argentina, Iceland, Croatia, Nigeria  

Group E: Brazil, Switzerland, Costa Rica, Serbia  

Group F: Germany, Mexico, Sweden, South Korea  

Group G: Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England  

Group H: Poland, Senegal, Colombia, Japan 

Fixtures of the FIFA World Cup 2018 (Date and Time in IST):

June 14/6/2018, Thursday

Russia vs Saudi Arabia  (8:30pm)

June 15/6/2018, Friday

Egypt vs Uruguay (5:30pm)

Morocco vs Iran (8:30pm)

Portugal vs Spain (11:30pm)

June 16/6/2018, Saturday

France vs Australia (3:30pm)

Argentina vs Iceland  (6:30pm)

Peru vs Denmark (9:30pm)

Croatia vs Nigeria (5:30pm)

June 17/6/2018, Sunday

Costa Rica vs Serbia (12:30am)

Germany vs Mexico (8:30pm)

Brazil vs Switzerland (11:30pm)

June 18/6/2018, Monday

Sweden vs South Korea (5:30pm_

Belgium vs Panama (8:30pm)

Tunisia vs England (11:30pm)

June 19/6/2018, Tuesday

Poland vs Senegal (5:30pm)

Colombia vs Japan (8:30pm)

Russia vs Egypt (11:30pm)

June 20/6/2018, Wednesday

Portugal vs Morocco (5:30pm)

Uruguay vs Saudi Arabia (8:30pm)

Iran vs Spain (11:30pm)

June 21/6/2018, Thursday

France vs Peru (5:30pm)

Denmark vs Australia (4:30pm)

Argentina vs Croatia (11:30pm)

June 22/6/2018, Friday

Brazil vs Costa Rica (5:30pm)

Nigeria vs Iceland (8:30pm)

Serbia vs Switzerland (4:30pm)

June 23/6/2018, Saturday

Belgium vs Tunisia (5:30pm)

Germany vs Sweden (8:30pm)

South Korea vs Mexico (11:30pm)

June 24/6/2018, Sunday

England vs Panama (5:30pm)

Japan vs Senegal (8:30pm)

Poland vs Colombia (11:30pm)

June 25/6/2018, Monday

Saudi Arabia vs Egypt (7:30pm)

Uruguay vs Russia (8:30pm) 

Iran vs Portugal (11:30pm)

Spain vs Morocco (10:30pm)

June 26/6/2018, Tuesday

Australia vs Peru (7:30pm)

Denmark vs France (7:30pm)

Nigeria vs Argentina (11:30pm) 

Iceland vs Croatia (11:30pm)

June 27/6/2018, Wednesday

South Korea vs Germany (7:30pm)

Mexico vs Sweden (7:30pm)

Serbia vs Brazil (11:30pm)

Switzerland vs Costa Rica (11:30pm)

June 28/6/2018, Thursday

Japan vs Poland (7:30pm)

Senegal vs Colombia (7:30pm)

Panama vs Tunisia (11:30pm)

England vs Belgium (10:30pm)

Round of 16:

June 30/6/2018, Saturday

Group C winners vs Group D runners-up (7:30pm)

Group A winners vs Group B runners-up (11:30pm) 

July 1/7/2018, Sunday

Group B winners vs Group A runners-up (7:30pm)

Group D winners vs Group C runners-up (11:30pm)

July 2/7/2018, Monday

Group E winners vs Group F runners-up (12:30am)

Group G winners vs Group H runners-up (11:30pm)

Group F winners vs Group E runners-up (7:30pm)

Group H winners vs Group G runners-up (11:30pm) 


July 6/7/2018, Friday

QF1: Winner (Group C winner vs Group D runners-up) vs Winner (Group A winners vs Group B runners-up) (7:30pm)

QF2: Winner (Group E winners vs Group F runners-up) vs Winner (Group G winners vs Group H runners-up) (11:30pm)

July 7/7/2018, Saturday

QF3: Winner (Group F winners vs Group E runners-up) vs Winner (Group H winners vs Group G runners-up) (11:30pm)

QF4: Winner (Group B winners vs Group A runners-up) vs Winner (Group D winners vs Group C runners-up) (12:00am)


July 10/7/2018, Tuesday

Quarter-final 1 vs Quarter-final 2 (11:30pm)

July 11/7/2018, Wednesday

Quarter-final 3 vs Quarter-final 4 (11:30pm)

Third place playoff: 

July 14/7/2018, Saturday

Loser of semi-final 1 vs Loser of semi-final 2


July 15/7/2018, Sunday

Winner of Semi-final 1 vs Winner of Semi-final 2 (8:30pm)

For all the Latest Sports News News, Fifa World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 02 Jun 2018, 03:52:25 PM