News Nation Logo

FIFA Under-17 World Cup: 10 Interesting facts about the premier football tournament

The FIFA U-17 World Cup, Founded As The FIFA U-16 World Championship Is The Premier International Football Tournament For Male Players Under The Age Of 17.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 05 Oct 2017, 12:27:44 PM
FIFA U 17 World Cup - File Photo

New Delhi:

The FIFA U-17 World Cup, founded as the FIFA U-16 World Championship is the premier international football tournament for male players under the age of 17. The tournament is organized by world football's governing body, Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The tournament which initially started off as the FIFA U-16 World Championship later changed to its current name in 2007.

The FIFA U-17 World Cup shall be hosted by India for the first time since the inception of the tournament.

Here are ten major facts about the FIFA Under 17 World Cup

# Lion City Cup - The FIFA U-17 World Championship was inspired by the Lion City Cup that was created by the Football Association of Singapore in 1977. The Lion City Cup is the first under-16 football tournament in the world. 

# First Edition held in China - The first edition of the FIFA U-17 World Championships was hosted by China in 1985, and since then the tournament has been played out every two years.

# It began as a competition for players under the age of 16 with the age limit raised to 17 from the 1991 edition onwards. 

# Most Succesful Nation - Nigeria - Nigeria with five titles is the most successful nation in the tournament's history. Nigeria has also finished runners-up three times (1987, 2001, 2009). Brazil is the second-most successful with three titles and two runners-up. Ghana and Mexico have won the tournament twice.

# The last edition of the tournament was hosted by Chile in 2015 and won by Nigeria.

# On the lines of the FIFA Under 17 World Cup, a corresponding tournament for female players, the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup, began 2008, with North Korea winning the inaugural tournament.

# India is the 18th Asian team to take part in the U-17 World Cup

# Brazil’s Ronaldinho is the only player to have won both FIFA U-17 (1997) and FIFA World Cup Finals (2002) title

For all the Latest Sports News News, Football News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Sep 2017, 10:22:40 AM