News Nation Logo


FIFA WORLD CUP 2018: Argentina announce 35-man squad; Icardi, Dybala make the cut

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 15 May 2018, 11:14:36 AM
Jorge Sampaoli has named Argentina's 35-man provisional squad for FIFA World Cup

New Delhi:

Inter Milan forward Mauro Icardi has been included in Argentina’s 35-man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup which is set to be held in Russia.

The striker has been in sensational form in Serie A but has been mostly out of the national team, with just four appearances under his bag since his debut in 2013.

However, manager Jorge Sampaoli could not neglect the 25-year-old lethal goalscorer for his initial squad for the mega event to be held in Russia.

Icardi joins another Serie A superstar Paulo Dybala, skipper Lionel Messi and Sergio Aguero.

But, Icardi is expected to be left out from Sampaoli’s final 23-man squad, despite his heroic 28-goal season for his club Inter Milan.

The former Chile coach will name his final 23-man team on May 13.

As per the recent reports, Juventus forward Dybala will make the final cut to Sampaoli’s final 23-man squad, while Icardi is expected to miss out.

Meanwhile, Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero, who missed his club’s last six games due to knee injury is expected to be fully fit for the tournament.

Whereas, Atletico Madrid forward Angel Correa and Zenit midfielder Matias Kranevitter have missed out on a place in Sampoli’s plans.

Argentina will kick off their World Cup journey against Iceland in Group D on June 14. Croatia and Nigeria are other teams in their group.

Argentina 35-man FIFA World Cup squad: 

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero, Nahuel Guzman, Willy Caballero, Franco Armani.

Defenders: Gabriel Mercado, Nicolás Otamendi, Federico Fazio, Nicolás Tagliafico, Marcos Rojo, Marcos Acuña, Ramiro Funes Mori, Cristian Ansaldi, Eduardo Salvio, Germán Pezzella.

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano, Ángel Di María, Ever Banega, Lucas Biglia, Manuel Lanzini, Gio Lo Celso, Ricardo Centurión, Guido Pizarro, Leandro Paredes, Maximiliano Meza, Enzo Pérez, Pablo Pérez, Rodrigo Battaglia.

Forwards: Lionel Messi, Sergio Agüero, Gonzalo Higuaín, Paulo Dybala, Mauro Icardi Cristian Pavón, Lautaro Martínez, Diego Perotti.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Football News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 14 May 2018, 11:58:32 PM