News Nation Logo


India name probables for World cup preliminary qualifiers

Star Striker Sunil Chhetri Is Among A 28-strong Indian Probable Squad Announced Today For The 2018 Soccer World Cup Preliminary Qualifying Round Matches Against Iran And Turkmenistan.

PTI | Updated on: 08 Mar 2016, 02:18:02 PM

New Delhi:

Star striker Sunil Chhetri is among a 28-strong Indian probable squad announced today for the 2018 soccer World Cup preliminary qualifying round matches against Iran and Turkmenistan.

While India travel to Tehran to play Iran on March 24, they will host Turkmenistan in Kochi on March 29 in the Qualification Round 2 games.

The team will have a camp in the capital from March 16 prior to the departure to Tehran on March 21.

Constantine sounded “excited,” when asked about the camp.

“The boys would be assembling on March 16 and we will be practicing at the Ambedkar Stadium. However, as both Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC are involved in the AFC Cup, the boys from the two Clubs won’t be able to be with us on the 16th,” Constantine said.

“As Mohun Bagan play a Home match in the AFC Cup (on March 16), they will report to the Camp the next day while the boys from Bengaluru FC will report to the Camp as soon as they are back from their away match,” he added.

Constantine said the side would look to carry the form which helped it win the SAFF Cup.

“It’s important that we sustain the momentum which we achieved by winning the SAFF Suzuki Cup. Playing in Tehran will be a difficult game for us,” he stated.

“Without disrespecting Turkmenistan, we want to get the maximum we can from our Home match,” he said.

The list of 28 Probables stay as follows:

GOALKEEPERS: Subrata Paul, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Karanjit Singh, TP Reheneesh.

DEFENDERS: Aiborlang Khongjee, Augistine Fernandes, Arnab Mondal, Pritam Kotal, Sandesh Jhingan, Rino Anto, Narayan Das,

Lalchhuanmawia, MIDFIELDERS: Pronay Halder, Bikash Jairu, Cavin Lobo, Rowlin Borges, Alwyn George, Md. Rafique, Malsawmzuala, Francis Fernandes, Harmanjot Singh Khabra, Udanta Singh, Vineet Rai, Seityasen Singh.

FORWARDS: Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sunil Chhetri, Sumeet Passi, Halicharan Narzary.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Football News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Mar 2016, 02:16:00 PM