News Nation Logo


Praful Patel unanimously re-elected All India Football Federation President for fourth time

The Annual General Meeting Was Held In New Delhi After The Delhi High Court On Tuesday Vacated A Stay On The Elections.

PTI | Updated on: 21 Dec 2016, 11:43:50 PM
Praful Patel (source: Getty)

New Delhi :

Praful Patel on Wednesday has been re-elected unopposed as the president of All India Football Federation for a four-year term - his third successive - and he promised to run AIFF in a “transparent” manner.

The Annual General Meeting was held in New Delhi after the Delhi High Court  on Tuesday vacated a stay on the elections.

The electoral process was completed in the presence of the appointed returning officer Justice Bipin Chandra Kandpal (Retd.) who declared Patel elected along with the Executive Committee for the term 2017-2020.

“I declare Mr. Praful Patel unanimously elected as the President of the All India Football Federation. All nominated persons for the posts of Executive Committee members have also been elected unanimously, subject to the final outcome of the pending court proceedings. Congratulations to all of them,” Justice Kandpal said.

Patel, a former Union Minister, served as acting president for one year after long-time head Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi suffered a cardiac arrest in 2008. He took over as full time president in October 2009 before being re-elected for the top job in December 2012.

“On behalf of the AIFF, I can assure you of the highest standard of ethics and transparency,” Patel said after being re-elected.

“I thank all of you for your support and I am grateful for your continuous support. I take pride in the fact that I have been given the honour of heading one of the most professional sports bodies in the country.”

Dilip Kumar Singh attended the AGM as an observer on behalf of the Government of India, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, while Kuldeep Vats was the observer on behalf of the Indian Olympic Association.

Besides, Purushottam Kattel, International Relations Officer, Asian Football Confederation and Shaji Prabhakaran, FIFA Regional Developmental Officer, South and Central Asia were also present on the occasion.

Chirag Tanna and Rochak Langer represented FSDL in the AGM.

Elected members:

Praful Patel (re-elected as President)

Subrata Dutta (re-elected as Vice-President, East)

K M I Mather (re-elected as Vice-President, South)

Subhash Chopra (re-elected as Vice-President, North)

Larsing Sawyan (re-elected as Vice-President, North-East)

Manavendra Singh (elected as Vice-President, West)

ZA Thakur (re-elected as Treasurer)

A R Khaleel (re-elected as Executive Committee member, South)

Jessiah Villavarayar (re-elected as Executive Committee member, South)

Deepak Kumar (elected as Executive Committee member, North)

Deepak Sharma (elected as Executive Committee member, North)

Ghulam Rabbani (re-elected as Executive Committee member, East)

Sanjay Behera (re-elected as Executive Committee member, East)

Amit Ranjan Dev (re-elected as Executive Committee member, West)

Gulab Chauhan (elected as Executive Committee member, West)

M N Brahma (elected as Executive Committee member, North-East)

Lalnighinglova Hmar (elected as Executive Committee member, North-East)

For all the Latest Sports News News, Football News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Dec 2016, 11:20:00 PM