News Nation Logo


Bengal beat Goa 1-0, win Santosh Trophy 32nd time in a thrilling grand finale

Bengal Has Clinched Their 32nd Title After Defeating Goa In The Santosh Trophy Football Tournament At GMC Athletic Stadium In Goa On Sunday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Prakhar Sharma | Updated on: 27 Mar 2017, 04:39:44 PM
Santosh Trophy finals: Bengal clinches 32nd title by defeating Goa (Representative Image)

New Delhi:

Bengal clinched their 32nd title after defeating Goa in the Santosh Trophy football tournament at GMC Athletic Stadium in Goa on Sunday.

The two teams were in a deadlock after 90 mins of regulation time. The match was decided in extra time when Manvir Singh’s goal sealed the title for Bengal.

Bengal had won the tournament 31 times before and have put up a consistent performance throughout the tournament.

On the other hand, Goa were inconsistent side in the group stage but they lifted their game on time to beat Kerala in the semifinals.

Bruno Colaco (Goa) was awarded the best goalkeeper of the tournament. Bengal's Provat Lakra got the Defender of the Tournament award.

Goa's Cajetan Fernandes get the best midfielder award. Bengal's Basanta Singh bags the Forward of the tournament award.

Also Read: Santosh Trophy: 31-times title holders Bengal to lock horns against 6 times champions Goa in title clash 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Football News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Mar 2017, 08:57:00 PM

Related Tags:

Santosh Trophy Bengal Goa