News Nation Logo


2016 Men's Hockey Junior World Cup: Roll of Honour | Past Champions

The 2016 Men's Hockey Junior World Cup Shall Be Held In Lucknow, India From December 8 To December 16.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 07 Dec 2016, 04:13:26 PM
Junior Hockey World Cup - File Photo

New Delhi:

The 2016 Men's Hockey Junior World Cup shall be held in Lucknow, India from December 8 to December 16. The tournament shall be the 11th edition of the Men's Hockey Junior World Cup.

The Hockey Junior World Cup, is an international field hockey competition organized by the International Hockey Federation (FIH). The first edition of the tournament was held in France in 1979. Pakistan had won the inaugural edition of the tournament held in France by beating West Germany. 

Since 1985 the tournament has been held every four years. Competitors must be under the age of 21 as of December 31 in the year before the tournament is held.

Hockey powerhouse Germany has had a stranglehold in the tournament by winning the coveted world title six times. Meanwhile Argentina, Australia, India and Pakistan have one title each to their name.

Germany go into the tournament as defending champions after they had won the last edition of the premier event by beating France in the finals.

Hosts India have tasted victory in the tournament by winning the title in 2001. The Indians ended up as runner-up in the 1997 edition after they lost narrowly to Australia in the finals. 

India secured the fourth place in 2005, after they lost to Spain (6-5) in a penalty shoot-out.  

Here is a look at the teams which have been the champions and finalist in the past editions of the Junior Hockey World Cup.

Junior Hockey World Cup
Junior Hockey World Cup

Roll of Honour

For all the Latest Sports News News, Hockey News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Dec 2016, 02:21:00 PM