News Nation Logo

Hashim Amla in, Chris Morris not included in World cup squad 2019

The South Africa Cricket Board Has Announced Its 15-man Squad For The World Cup, Becoming The Seventh Team To Do So. Faf Du Plessis Will Lead The Side Into The World Cup For The Second Time After 2015 World Cup.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vedant Sharma | Updated on: 18 Apr 2019, 05:01:32 PM
South Africa announced 15-member squad for the World Cup 2019 (Image Credit: Twitter)


  • South Africa becomes the seventh team to announce 15-member squad for World Cup. 
  • Faf du Plessis to lead the side for the second time in ICC Cricket World Cup. 
  • South Africa will play World Cup opener against England on May 30. 

New Delhi:

The South Africa cricket board announced its 15-man squad for the World Cup, becoming the seventh team to do so. Faf du Plessis will lead the side into the World Cup for the first time. The announcement was made public on Thursday and the big name to miss out is Chris Morris who was a part of the team frequently and has also played 2015 World Cup. South Africa will play the opening game of ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 against the host England at Oval, London. 

The South Africa board has also unvieled the World Cup jersey. On this, the board member said, "It looks good. Gives feel of 1992 World Cup, and I hope we do well."

Here’s South Africa’s 15-member squad for World Cup:

Faf du Plessis (c), Aiden Markaram, JP Duminy, David Miller, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Quinton de Kock, Dwayne Pretorious, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi, Rassiven, Hashim Amla

Here's the tweet:

For all the Latest Sports News News, ICC World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Apr 2019, 04:36:59 PM