News Nation Logo


South Africa and Bangladesh to play Tests; West Indies, Zimbabwe to tour India in 2019/20 home season

South Africa And Bangladesh Will Play Tests In India While Zimbabwe Will Tour India For Three Twenty20 Internationals In What Will Be Their First Tour To The Country After 18 Years.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 03 Jun 2019, 09:29:00 PM
South Africa and Bangladesh will play Tests against India while Zimbabwe will tour the country for the first time in 18 years. (Image credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced the home fixtures for the upcoming 2019/20 season and it is action-packed. In a statement put out by the Indian cricket board, the Indian cricket team will host South Africa, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, West Indies and Australia. The series against South Africa will be part of the new revamped ICC Test championship while Bangladesh will tour India for the second time after having played a one-off Test in 2017 in Hyderabad. The home season will also see a visit by Zimbabwe for three Twenty20 Internationals. This will be the first time Zimbabwe are touring India after 18 years. Zimbabwe were scheduled to tour India during February and March but the series was postponed due to a visit by the Australian team for five ODIs and two Twenty20 Internationals. 

India's home series will commence from 15th September 2019 and it will begin with three Twenty20 Internationals in Dharamsala, Mohali and Bengaluru against South Africa. The action will then shift to three Tests with the first one in Vizag beginning on October 1 against South Africa. The remaining two Tests will be played in Ranchi and Pune. After the tour ends on October 23, Bangladesh will come visiting India.

The series against Bangladesh will begin from November 3 with three Twenty20 Internationals in Delhi, Rajkot and Nagpur. After that, two Tests will be played from November 14 to 18 in Indore and November 22 to 26 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. West Indies will tour India from December 6 to December 22 and it will include three Twenty20 Internationals and three ODIs which will be played in Mumbai, Thiruvananthapuram, Hyderbad, Chennai, Vizag and Cuttack.

Zimbabwe's three Twenty20 Internationals will start from January 5 and it will involve thre Twenty20 Internationals in Guwahati, Indore and Pune. The Australian cricket team will visit India for three ODIs from 14th January to January 19 and they will play games in Mumbai, Rajkot and Bengaluru. The season will end with South Africa returning to the country for three ODIs from 12th March to 18th March. The venues will be Dharamsala, Lucknow and Kolkata.

South Africa tour of India

Date            Format     Venue

September 15     T20I     Dharamsala
September 18     T20I     Mohali
September 22     T20I     Bengaluru
October 2 - 6     Test     Vizag
October 10 - 14 Test     Ranchi
October 19 - 23 Test     Pune

Bangladesh tour of India

Date                     Format     Venue
Nov 03                  T20I     Delhi
Nov 07                  T20I     Rajkot
Nov 10                  T20I     Nagpur
Nov 14 - 18           Test     Indore
Nov 22 - 26           Test     Kolkata

West Indies tour of India

Date                Format     Venue
December 6     T20I     Mumbai
December 8     T20I     Thiruvananthapuram
December 11   T20I     Hyderabad
December 15     ODI     Chennai
December 18     ODI     Visakhapatnam
December 22     ODI     Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of India
Date            Format     Venue
January 5     T20I     Guwahati
January 7     T20I     Indore
January 10     T20I     Pune

Australia tour of India
Date           Format     Venue
January 14     ODI     Mumbai
January 17     ODI     Rajkot
January 19     ODI     Bangalore

South Africa tour of India
Date            Format     Venue
March 12     ODI     Dharamsala
March 15     ODI     Lucknow
March 18     ODI     Kolkata


  • India will host a total of 26 internationals in their home season.
  • Zimbabwe will tour India after 18 years.
  • Delhi will host only one Twenty20 International against Bangladesh.

For all the Latest Sports News News, ICC World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Jun 2019, 09:29:00 PM