News Nation Logo

David Warner To Be Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain For 2020 Indian Premier League

David Warner Has Been Appointed As The Skipper Of The Sunrisers Hyderabad Team For The Entire Edition Of The 2020 Indian Premier League Replacing Kane Williamson.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 28 Feb 2020, 10:13:39 AM
david warner sunrisershyderabad2

David Warner has enjoyed prolific success in the Indian Premier League in the last couple of seasons for Sunrisers Hyderabad. (Photo Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

David Warner has been appointed as the skipper of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League, replacing Kane Williamson who has been at the helm of the side in the 2018 and 2019 edition of the Indian Premier League. Warner did not play for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2018 Indian Premier League as he was banned for one year for his role in the ball-tampering scandal in Newlands, Cape Town along with Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft. Warner returned to the Sunrisers Hyderabad side in 2019 and was the leading run-getter of the tournament. Warner has been successful for Sunrisers Hyderabad, helping the team win the IPL title in 2016 while Williamson guided the side to the final in 2018 where they lost to Chennai Super Kings.

Making the announcement on the official social media handles of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team, Wanrer said he was extremely indebted to the side for handing him the captaincy reigns. "I am honoured to be captaining the side again. I am thankful to Kane Williamson and Bhuvneshwar Kumar for the way how you guys led the side in the last couple of seasons. I will be leaning on both of you for support and your insights to the game. I also thank the management for giving me the chance and I will be trying my best to help Sunriers Hyderabad win the trophy in this edition," Warner said.

David Warner helped Sunrisers Hyderabad to the title in the 2016 Indian Premier League. (Image credit: Twitter)

The left-hander smashed 848 runs and helped Sunrisers Hyderabad win their first title by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final by eight runs in the 2016 Indian Premier League. In that same edition, Virat Kohli broke all records by smashing 973 runs which also included four centuries in the tournament. In 2019, Warner was the leading run-getter with 692 runs in 12 matches.

More Options For Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad will begin their IPL 2020 campaign against Mumbai Indians at the Rajiv Gandhi International stadium on April 01 while their first away encounter will be on April 04 against Kings XI Punjab at the PCA stadium in Mohali. The appointment of Warner as skipper could mean that Williamson spends a considerable time on the sidelines in this edition. In the recent auction, Sunrisers Hyderabad acquired players like Fabian Allen and Mitchell Marsh in the side to add more depth to the side.

Also ReadIPL 2020 - Guwahati To Host Two Home Games Of Rajasthan Royals In April

They already have three match-winners in the form of Jonny Bairstow who formed a deadly combination with David Warner while the likes of Rashid Khan and Mohammad Nabi are automatic picks on the slow Indian surfaces and notably in Uppal. The 2020 Indian Premier League will kick-off with four-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians taking on three-time champions Chennai Super Kings at the Wankhede stadium on March 29. This edition of the Indian Premier League will consist of only six double-headers and all will be played on Sunday while the final will be played at the Wankhede stadium on May 24.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Feb 2020, 10:13:39 AM