News Nation Logo


IPL 2018, RCB vs SRH: Hyderabad beat Bangalore by five runs

The Kane Williamson Led SRH Defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore By Five Runs In Front Of A Jam-packed Stadium In Hyderabad.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhishek Ranjit | Updated on: 08 May 2018, 12:05:16 AM
 IPL 2018, RCB vs SRH: Hyderabad look to secure place in play-off (Source- IPL's Twitter handle)

New Delhi:

Sunrisers Hyderabad on Monday proved why they are one of the strongest stables in the current season of Indian Premier League.  The Kane Williamson led team defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by five runs in front of a jam-packed stadium in Hyderabad.

RCB skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to field first. Bangalore bowlers justified Kohli’s decision to bowl first and gave early jitters to the SRH’s openers.

Tim Southee and Mohammed Siraj decimated Hyderabad’s batting line-up and restricted the team to a modest total of 146. Bangalore needed a total of 147 runs to win the match and safeguard their chances to secure a place in the play-offs.

Captain Kane Williamson brought some respite for Hyderabad and scored a valuable 56 runs.  Shakib Al Hasan also hit 35 runs off 32 balls, thus keeping the hopes alive.

Sunrisers Hyderabad were able to defend the total, even though at one time it looked RCB will win the game easily. RCB lost three wickets of Kohli, Villiers and Moeen Ali in quick succession, failing to capitalise on the momentum.

#Highlights (Check out the scorecard)

# Sunrisers Hyderabad defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore by five runs

# 20 overs- Bhuvneshwar SCALPS de Grandhomme, RCB lose sixth wicket

# 19.5 overs- RCB need 6 runs in 1 ball, can they pull up an upset?

# 18 overs- RCB 128/5

# 15 overs- RCB 102/5, need 46 more runs to win from 30 balls

# 11.4 overs- Siddharth Kaul STRIKES Moeen Ali's wicket

# 11 overs- RCB 80/4 

# 10.4 overs- BYE BYE!! Rashid Khan DISMISSES de Villiers, sends him back to pavilion

#9.5 overs- Shakib Al Hasan SCALPS Virat Kohli

#7.1 overs- Sandeep Sharma SCALPS Manan Vohra

# 5 overs- RCB 51/1

# 2.5 overs- Shakib STRIKES Parthiv Patel, who goes out for 20

# 2 overs- RCB 13/0

# 1 over- RCB 5/0

# It's time for RCB batsman to show their magic and lead their team to victory, can SRH defend their total?

# 20 overs- SRH puts on board 147 runs, set target of 148 runs for RCB

# 17.2 overs- Tim Southee SCALPS Shakib Ul Hasan's wicket

# 15.6 overs- Thats OUT!!- Kane Williamson DEPARTS for 56, SRH 112/4

#14.2 overs- Kane Williamson SMASHES a six to take SRH's score to over 100

#13 overs - SRH 80/3, need to increase their run-rate to put a competitive total

#12 overs- SRH need to fire from all the tanks, as they have put on board only 76 runs for the loss for three wickets

# 11 overs- SRH 68/3

#10 overs- Half of SRH's innings is over and they are at 61/3

# 9.3 overs- Shakib Al Hasan SMASHES two back-to-back fours in Moeen Ali's over

# It's time for the Strategic time out

# 8.2 overs- BYE BYE!! Chahal STRIKES Manish Pandey to bring SRH to 48/3

# 8 overs- SRH 47/2, Kane Williamson on 22 and Manish Pandey on 5

# 7 overs- SRH 42/2

# Can RCB limit SRH to a modest total?

# 5.5 overs- Siraj DISMISSES Shikhar Dhawan, SRH look to be in trouble

# Mohammed Siraj comes into the attack to bowl the fifth over

# 4 overs- RCB have got off to a good start, SRH are 25/1

# 3 overs- SRH 20/1

# 2.3 overs- BYE BYE!! Tim Southee SCALPS Alex Hales, who goes out for 5

#Tim Southee comes into the attack

# 2 overs- SRH 14/0

# 1.4 over- Shikhar Dhawan SMASHES a four off Umesh Yadav's ball, sents the crowd into tizzy

# 1 over- SRH 4/0

#Shikhar Dhawan and Alex Hales are opening for SRH

#It's the IPL debut of RCB's bowler Moeen Ali

# The stadium is jam-packed and crowd is ready to see the battle of the titans

Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the toss and decided to bowl first

#Here's a look at the playing eleven for both the teams

SRH XI: A Hales, S Dhawan, K Williamson, M Pandey, Y Pathan, S Al Hasan, W Saha, B Kumar, R Khan, S Kaul, Sandeep Sharma

RCB XI: V Kohli, M Vohra, P Patel, AB de Villiers, M Ali, M Singh, C de Grandhomme, T Southee, U Yadav, M Siraj, Y Chahal

For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 May 2018, 07:11:46 PM