News Nation Logo

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings set for fourth final in IPL ‘El Clasico’

Mumbai Indians Will Square Off Against Chennai Super Kings For The Fourth Time In The Final Of The Indian Premier League.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 11 May 2019, 11:40:26 AM
Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings will square off in their fourth IPL final and this will be their fourth encounter in the 2019 edition. (Image credit: Twitter)


  • Mumbai Indians hold a 2-1 advantage against Chennai Super Kings in IPL finals.
  • Chennai Super Kings have reached their eighth final in 10 IPL editions.
  • Mumbai Indians have reached the final four times and won three encounters.

New Delhi:

The contests between Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings is often dubbed the ‘El Clasico’ in the Indian Premier League. The ‘El Clasico’ is one of the most famous football duels in the world and it involves Barcelona and Real Madrid, two teams who are the best football clubs not only in Spain but in the world. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have played each other thrice in the 2019 Indian Premier League and Rohit Sharma’s side have emerged victorious on all three occasions. This will be the fourth encounter between the two sides and this will also be the fourth final between the two teams in the tournament.

Rohit Sharma’s side holds a 16-11 head-to-head advantage against Chennai Super Kings and they have won the last five encounters against Dhoni’s side. Both teams have won three IPL titles and the winner of the 2019 IPL will become the first to four titles. Mumbai Indians have won two out of their three titles by defeating Chennai Super Kings while the other win came against Rising Pune Supergiants. Chennai Super Kings, on the other hand, defeated Mumbai Indians in 2010 before beating Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2011 and 2018 edition. Here is a blast from the past from the previous finals encounter between the two sides.

IPL 2010: Chennai Super Kings beat Mumbai Indians by 22 runs

Suresh Raina was the key in Chennai Super Kings as he smashed an attacking fifty and some solid contributions from Murali Vijay and MS Dhoni helped them reach 168/5. In response, Mumbai Indians lost wickets at crucial times but Sachin Tendulkar held firm. When he fell for 48 to Shadab Jakati, Mumbai Indians faced an uphill task and despite some lusty blows from Kieron Pollard who blasted 27 off 10 balls, Mumbai Indians lost by 22 runs to give Chennai Super Kings their first IPL title.

IPL 2013: Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs

Mumbai Indians chose to bat and they got off to a disastrous start after they were reduced to 52/4 in the 10th over. However, Kieron Pollard once again showed his mettle by blasting 60 off 32 balls which included seven fours and three sixes and it gave Mumbai Indians momentum. Chennai Super Kings fared even worse as they were reduced to 58/8 with Lasith Malinga, Harbhajan Singh and Mitchell Johnson taking two wickets apiece. MS Dhoni gave the total respectability by hammering 63 off 45 which included three fours and five sixes but Mumbai Indians won their first title by 23 runs. It was a fitting farewell for Sachin Tendulkar who announced his retirement.

IPL 2015: Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs

Mumbai Indians once again squared off against Chennai Super Kings at the Eden Gardens in a repeat of 2013 final. Chennai Super Kings chose to bowl but it backfired with Lendl Simmons and Rohit Sharma hammering fifties. Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu hit 36 off 18 and 24 balls respectively as Mumbai Indians reached 202/5. Mitchell McClenaghan picked up 3/25 and despite Dwayne Smith’s 57 off 48 balls, Chennai Super Kings lost the match by 41 runs.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 May 2019, 11:40:26 AM