News Nation Logo


IPL 2019 Rajasthan Royals vs Kolkata Knight Riders highlights: Kolkata thrash Rajasthan

Steve Smith Blasted 73* But Chris Lynn's Seventh Fifty And An Aggressive Start From Sunil Narine, Backed Up By Harry Gurney's Brilliant 2/25 Helped Kolkata Knight Riders Beat Rajasthan Royals By Eight Wickets At The Sawai Mansingh Stadium. Get Highlights Here.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 07 Apr 2019, 10:56:02 PM
Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn boosted Kolkata Knight Riders to an eight-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh stadium. Get live cricket score and updates here. (Image credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Kolkata Knight Riders chose to bowl against Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh stadium and they started off poorly, losing Ajinkya Rahane cheaply. Jos Buttler and Steve Smith steadied the ship with a solid partnership but Buttler departed for 41. Smith notched up his fifty but some wonderful bowling from Piyush Chawla and Harry Gurney, who was making his IPL debut, restricted Rajasthan Royals to 139/3 against Kolkata Knight Riders. In response, Sunil Narine and Chris Lynn gave Kolkata Knight Riders a fast start and they registered a brilliant eight-wicket win to go on top of the table. (SCORECARD)

22:58 hrs IST: Kolkata Knight Riders have registered a brilliant eight-wicket win against Rajasthan Royals and they have moved to the top of the table.

22:44 hrs IST: Lynn reaches his 7th fifty but he mistimes the slog sweep and he gets caught at deep backward square leg.

22:39 hrs IST: Lynn and Uthappa are ensuring that the runs are continuing to flow for Kolkata Knight Riders and Lynn nears a fifty by slog sweeping Gopal into the stands at deep midwicket.

22:32 hrs IST: Narine misses out on a fifty. The googly from Shreyas Gopal and the ball bounces a bit more, it stops on the wicket as Narine attempts the cut, the edge is taken at slip by Steve Smith.

22:30 hrs IST: Two more sixes by Narine off Sudeshan Midhun, the IPL debutant and he nears a fifty. This is a splendid exhibition of hitting.

22:25 hrs IST: Shreyas Gopal, who bowled brilliantly in the game against Royal Challengers Bangalore, is into the attack and he conedes just two runs. He is bowling the googly at will.

22:19 hrs IST: Narine and Lynn continue to find the boundary and Kolkata Knight Riders have reached 65/0 in the powerplay. Rajasthan Royals need a wicket and fast.

22:14 hrs IST: Chris Lynn blasts a six and the fifty run stand is up in just the fifth over. Kolkata Knight Riders are cruising and Rajasthan Royals are running out of ideas.

22:07 hrs IST: Oh dear, Rahul Tripathi drops Narine and the next ball, Lynn gets beaten and the ball hits the stump, the bail is up and the light is flashing but the bail does not fall off. This is absolutely terrible for Rajasthan Royals. Lynn makes Rajasthan pay by hammering a boundary.

22:04 hrs IST: 4,6,0,4,4,4. Sunil Narine absolutely mauls Krishnappa Gowtham as he leaks 22 runs in the over. Kolkata Knight Riders make a great start.

21:57 hrs IST: Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine start well with a boundary and Kolkata Knight Riders have made a great start.

21:40 hrs IST: Steve Smith ends on 73* but Rajasthan Royals have ended on 139/3, with Stokes hitting seven off 14 balls. This could prove to be costly

21:34 hrs IST: Very lengthy 19th over as Prasidh Krishna oversteps, bowls a beamer but Rajasthan Royals cannot capitalise.

21:25 hrs IST: Smith survives a review and he launches Narine into the stands at wide long on. 89 meter six and Rajasthan Royals are eyeing a big score.

21:22 hrs IST: Only five runs in the 17th over bowled by Kuldeep Yadav. This has stalled Rajasthan Royals again. They need one big over.

21:13 hrs IST: Steve Smith notches up a brilliant fifty off just 44 balls and Rajasthan Royals are getting some momentum.

21:03 hrs IST: Piyush Chawla ends with 4-0-19-0 and Narine is also bowling brilliantly. The pitch is really assisting the spinners well.

20:58 hrs IST: Six and out! Jos Buttler launches a six over deep midwicket and then holes out to a slower ball to the fielder at deep midwicket, with Shubman Gill taking the wicket.

20:51 hrs IST: Smith and Buttler find a boundary each of Kuldeep Yadav but Kolkata Knight Riders are maintaining a tight hold of runs.

20:38 hrs IST: Narine concedes a boundary as Buttler revives Rajasthan. However, the run-rate is still low.

20:30 hrs IST: The powerplay has ended and Kolkata Knight Riders have restricted Rajasthan Royals to 28/1 after six overs.

20:20 hrs IST: Buttler and Smith are trying to revive the innings and the Englishman gets going by shuffling to the off side and ramping Krishna to the fine leg fence.

20:12 hrs IST: Prasidh Krishna strikes in his first ball. Good length ball and it cuts back in, Rahane moves slightly to the off side and gets hit on the pad, the umpire gives it out and Rahane decides against the review.

20:09 hrs IST: Piyush Chawla opens the bowling for Kolkata Knight Riders but he gets hammered to deep midwicket for a boundary by Ajinkya Rahane but he ends up conceding just five runs.

19:41 hrs IST: Here are the playing XIs of both the sides

Rajasthan Royals: Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler(w), Steven Smith, Rahul Tripathi, Ben Stokes, Prashant Chopra, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sudhesan Midhun

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Shubman Gill, Andre Russell, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav, Harry Gurney, Prasidh Krishna

19:39 hrs IST: Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and they will bowl. Harry Gurney replaces Lockie Ferguson while for Rajasthan Royals, Prashant Chopra replaces Stuart Binny while Sudhesan Midhun replaces Varun Aaron.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Apr 2019, 06:23:12 PM