News Nation Logo


IPL 2019 SRH vs KKR highlights: Warner, Bairstow give Hyderabad massive win

David Warner And Jonny Bairstow Blasted Fifties As Sunrisers Hyderabad Defeated Against Kolkata Knight Riders By Nine Wickets At Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium In Hyderabad.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vedant Sharma | Updated on: 21 Apr 2019, 07:20:14 PM
David Warner and Jonny Bairstow smashed fifties and boosted Sunrisers Hyderabad to a nine-wicket win against Kolkata Knight Riders. (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Chris Lynn blasted a fifty for Kolkata Knight Riders but some magnificent bowling from Rashid Khan and Khaleel Ahmed helped Sunrisers Hyderabad restrict Kolkata Knight Riders to 159/8. In response, David Warner and Jonny Bairstow continued their great form. Warner and Bairstow tore the Kolkata Knight Riders bowling, with Warner registering his 42nd fifty. The 131-run opening partnership ensured Kolkata Knight Riders had no chance and a brilliant 80* from Jonny Bairstow helped Sunrisers Hyderabad achieve a brilliant nine-wicket win at Uppal. The win has boosted Sunrisers Hyderabad to fourth spot while for Kolkata Knight Riders, they lost their fifth consecutive loss. With this loss, Kolkata Knight Riders will have to win their remaining games if they have to stay in contention for the play-offs. SCORECARD

Bairstow seals it with a boundary and a big six as Sunrisers Hyderabad complete a massive nine-wicket win against Kolkata Knight Riders. This has been a thrashing

Williamson and Bairstow are guiding Sunrisers Hyderabad closer to the target.

After two dropped catches, Yarra Prithviraj finally gets a wicket on debut as he cleans up David Warner with a off-cutter that knock out the leg stump. Warner falls for 67 but one feels it is too late. Still, reason enough for Prithviraj to enjoy.

Bairstow top-edges the sweep but is dropped by Harry Gurney as Sunil Narine is denied a wicket. Warner makes Kolkata Knight Riders pay by hammering Narine for a four and a six.

The 100-run opening stand is up between the duo in just the ninth over. The run-rate is over 11. This is carnage at Uppal and Kolkata Knight Riders are clueless as to how to stop the flow of runs.

Jonny Bairstow continues to find the boundary and already he and Warner have the most runs as an opening pair in the IPL ever, going past the record set by Warner and Shikhar Dhawan in 2016, the year where Sunrisers Hyderabad won the IPL for the first time.

Brilliant stuff from David Warner. He blasts two sixes and a four off KC Cariappa as the bowler concedes 20 runs in his first over. At the end of the powerplay, Sunrisers Hyderabad are 72/0 and are in a totally dominant position.

Bairstow smashes a four and a six off Piyush Chawla and Sunrisers Hyderabad make great progress, scoring at over 11 runs an over. Kolkata Knight Riders need to pull something out of the box to stem this run flow.

David Warner blasts Yarra Prithviraj, the debutant for a big six straight down the ground and Jonny Bairstow carves a short ball to deep backward point where KC Cariappa spills the chance.

Steady over from Harry Gurney as he concedes just six runs in his opening over. However, Kolkata Knight Riders need a good exhibition with the ball.

So Kolkata ended up getting 159 runs and when Sunrisers Hyderabad will come to bat, they need 160 to win their fifth game in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League. Chris Lynn hits 9th IPL fifty, and Khaleel Ahmed picks 3 for 33. 

WICKET: Piyush Chawla tried to play a reverse sweep but couldn't time it and went straight to the wicket-keeper. Rashid had the last laugh! After 19.3 overs , it's 150/8. 

WICKET: After hitting two sixes over mid-wicket, Ande Russell finds fielder for the third time. This is rarest of rare times that Dre Russ failed to get going. Departs for 15 (9).

18th over went for just one run. Piyush Chawala wasted 5 deliveries! After 18 overs, it's 134/6. 

WICKET: Absolute stunner! This is captain Kane Williamson's wicket! Khaleel picks his third. Chris Lynn departs for a well-made 51 (47). 

ALERT: Chris Lynn registers 9th IPL fifty! 

WICKET: Rinku Singh hit six of the last ball and tried to emulate the same on the next ball. However, the failed by some margin, and eventaully lost his wicket. Departs for 30 (25). 

Just 10 runs have come in last 12 balls which gives a feel that either of two batsman will go after the SRH bowling. This will give SRH a time to pick one more wicket. After 14 overs, it's 109/4. 

100 up for Kolkata Knight Riders! 

So 12 overs are done and dusted and Kolkata has scored one less than three figure mark. With 8 overs still to go, they will look to post somewhere between 160-170 and try restricting the opposition. 

The first leg of the first innings has been dominated well by the hosts. KKR has lost four wickets in first 10 overs and now the onus is on Chris Lynn to get Kolkata to a respectable total. After 10 overs, it's 80/4. 

WICKET: Dinesh Karthik one foot away from the crease. His sad run continues in the ongoing edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). KKR has lost four wickets in no time! OUT for 6 (4). 

WICKET: Nitish Rana gets a slight nip and through to the keeper. He was promoted up th eorder by Kolkata, but couldn't do justice to the call. Bhuvneshwar Kumar joins the party. OUT for 11 (11). 

The powerplay is slightly in favor of Sunrisers Hyderabad as they have been able to send two top batsman back to the pavilion. Going forward, Nitish Rana and Chris Lynn will try to play with responsibility and take the innings forward. After 6 overs, it's 61/2. 

WICKET: It was a juicy half volley from Khaleel and Shubhman was early in his shot, went straight to the point fielder. He will have to take a long walk back to the pavilion. Didn't trouble the scorers much. OUT for 3 (4).

WICKET: Knocked him over! Narine hit Khaleel for 14 runs in three balls, but Khaleel came back strongly to send dangerous Narine back to pavilion. Departs for 25 (8). 

Kolkata Knight Riders are off to a flying start at Uppal. Both Narine and Lynn are hammering the opposition bowlers all-around the ground. They have put Sunrisers on backfoot straight away. After 2 overs, it's 28/0. 

So Sunrisers Hyderabad players in last hurdle. Kolkata Knight Riders openers are out in the middle and so are the umpires. The two teams occupy fifth and sixth spot respectively and gives latter a chance to interchange the rankings. It's game TIME! 

Here are playing eleven for two sides: 

Kolkata Knight Riders: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Shubman Gill, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Piyush Chawla, KC Cariappa, Harry Gurney, Yarra Prithviraj

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow(w), Kane Williamson(c), Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, K Khaleel Ahmed

TOSS: Hyderabad opt to bowl vs Kolkata

The toss is scheduled to happen in 30 minutes time, and team winning the toss will look to have a bat first as chasing is comparatively difficult on Uppal wicket. However, this remains to be seen if the toss-winning captain goes with the same thought. 

Hello and a warm welcome. We are all set to witness another crackerjack of an encounter as Kane Williamson-led Sunrisers Hyderabad will host Kolkata Knight Riders at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Indian Premier League News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 21 Apr 2019, 02:58:34 PM