News Nation Logo

2016 Kabbadi World Cup: Proud nation congratulates Team India for win, PM leads accolades

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Led The Accolades For The Indian Kabaddi Team After It Triumphed In The 2016 World Cup, Its Third In A Row, On The Back Of A Memorable Second-half Fightback Against Iran Here On Saturday.

PTI | Updated on: 23 Oct 2016, 07:57:28 AM
2016 Kabbadi World Cup: Proud nation congratulates Team India for win, PM leads accolades (Image: Twitter/‏@virendersehwag)

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the accolades for the Indian kabaddi team after it triumphed in the 2016 World Cup, its third in a row, on the back of a memorable second-half fightback against Iran here on Saturday.

India defeated Iran 38-29, riding on Ajay Thakur’s brilliant performance.

The country was prompt to react to the triumph.

“Congratulations to Indian team for winning the Kabaddi World Cup. The team showed exceptional skills, grit & determination. Well done!” PM Modi wrote on his twitter handle.

Sports Minister Vijay Goel expressed his delight with the achievement.“And our tigers have done it. Victors. Congratulations @IamAnupK & team! #OneBigBlue,” Goel said.

The sporting fraternity too joined in praising the winning team.Olympic medallist boxer Vijender Singh wrote, “ Congratulation team ???? #kabaddiworldcup2016 #IndVsIRN.”

Said cricketer Viremder Sehwag, “Yeh Jazba ,yeh Spirit ,Hamka De De Thakur. Ajay Thakur, you are a rockstar. Haar ke Jeetne waale ko Team India kehta hain.Champions,”

Suresh Raina wrote, “Congratulations #IndianKabaddiTeam for wonderful display of skills & winning eight World title.

Dhawal Kulkarni said, “World Champions at the Kabbadi Worldcup 2016..Well done team India..Made us proud @KabaddiIndia @ProKabaddi #2016KabaddiWorldCup.”

Manoj Tiwary wrote, “What a proud feeling! Congratulations to the World Champions - Team India ???? #2016KabaddiWorldCup.”

Ace off-spinner Harbhajan Singh said, “Wah mere shero buraaaah chaaa Gaye.. so proud of you.. love u all..????  Champions! #INDvIRN #kabaddiworldcup2016. We are proud of u.”

Shikhar Dhawan said, “What a turnaround, had me glued throughout. Ajay Thakur, YOU BEAUTY!! Congratulations #IndianKabaddiTeam, #Champions of @KabaddiWorldCup ‘16.”

Another India cricketer Gautam Gambhir wrote, “Many congratulations to the Indian Kabaddi Team on another World Cup win! A nation watched on as you defined domination in the sport.”

Stylish batsman VVS Laxman said, “Congratulations Indian Kabaddi team for winning the #kabaddiworldcup2016 ??Gr8 team effort??You made us proud. Keep it up.”

Sreesanth said, “Well done India..congrats for winning the kabaddi World Cup..great team effort..proud moment for all Indians

Shuttler Gutta Jwala sdaid, “#TeamIndia #2016KabaddiWorldCup Wooohoooo champions 2016.”

Actor Shah Rukh Khan said, “Kabaddi kabaddi kabaddi. We are home. Congratulations India. Third title on the trot! Well done Anup, Ajay & the whole team. Champions!”

Politician Rajeev Shukla wrote, “Congrats Indian Kabaddi Team for the World Cup win. Great achievement and proud moment for the country #kabaddiworldcup2016.”

For all the Latest Sports News News, Kabaddi World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Oct 2016, 07:54:00 AM

Related Tags:

2016 Kabbadi World Cup