News Nation Logo

World Cup Kabaddi 2016: Winners and Finalists of previous World Cup editions

The 8th Edition Of The IKF Kabaddi World Cup Shall Be Underway Later On Thursday Evening At Ahmedabad, India.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 07 Oct 2016, 12:48:02 PM
Kabaddi World Cup 2016 - File Photo

New Delhi:

The 8th edition of the IKF Kabaddi world cup shall be underway later on Thursday evening at Ahmedabad, India. Host India shall be taking on South Korea in the opening game of Group A. India has played host to all the seven previous editions of the Kabaddi World Cup.

India has been a dominant force at the World Cup's winning every edition of the premier tournament since its inception. Apart from India, the other major Kabbadi powerhouses have come out from the Indian subcontinent and West Asian region. The likes of Iran, Pakistan and Bangladesh have poised a major challenge to India's hegemony in the sport. Meanwhile Canada has held it fort as a major power from North America amid the dominance of Asian countries in major tournaments.

Here is a look at the nations which have been the champions and finalist in the previous editions of the world.

IKF World Cup Kabaddi

Year Champion Finalist Score
2004 India Iran 55-27
2007 India Iran 29-19
2010 India Pakistan 58-24
2011 India Canada 59-25
2012 India Pakistan 59-22
2013 India Pakistan 48-39
2014 India Pakistan 48-42

For all the Latest Sports News News, Kabaddi World Cup News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Oct 2016, 12:43:00 PM