News Nation Logo


Rio Olympics 2016: India Railways declares Rs 1 crore award for gold winners

The Indian Railways Todayannounced A Rs 1 Crore Cash Award For Its Athlete Who Wins Agold Medal In The Rio Olympics. In Total, 35 Athletes From Indian Railways Will Take Partin The Summer Games.

PTI | Updated on: 06 Aug 2016, 02:54:06 AM
Five rings of olympics ( File Photo)

New Delhi:

 The Indian Railways today announced a Rs 1 crore cash award for its athlete who wins a gold medal in the Rio Olympics. In total, 35 athletes from Indian Railways will take part in the Summer Games.     

"A share of 35 players and 6 Coaches from Indian Railway in Rio Olympics is a testimony to the effort that Railways has put in promoting and supporting sports in India," the Indian Railways said in a statement.     

The silver medallist will get Rs 75 lakh and bronzewinner Rs 50 lakh. For the athletes who manages a top-8 finish, the reward will be Rs 30 lakh and for mereparticipation Rs 5 lakh.

"The contribution of coaches has also been acknowledged with a cash award of Rs.5 Lakh. In addition, those of Railway players with medal winning performances will be given posting in the Zonal Railway of their choice," the release said.   "With the aim to further motivate the players to deliver their best , Minister of Railways Shri Suresh Prabhu has announced a bouquet of incentives for the Railway players vizpromotions ,increments and cash awards. This includes promotions as Gazzetted officers for players getting upto 4th position;

Out of turn promotions and special increments to the Railway athletes representing India in Rio," it added.       

Sportspersons participating in Rio Olympics-2016 from Indian Railways are:

Archery: Ms. Laxmirani Majhi (SECR), Ms.L. Bombayla Devi (ER),

Athletics: Ms. Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put)[DMW],  Ms. Lalita Babar (3000m Steeplechase) [CR], Ms. TintuLuka (800m) [SR], Ms. Sudha Singh (Marathon) [CR], Ms. O.P.Jaisha (Marathon) [ER], Ms. Khushbir Kaur (Walk) [NR], Ms.Dutee Chand (100m) [CR], Mr. Renjith Maheswary (Triple Jump)[SR], Mr. Lalit Mathur (4x400 M Relay) [NR],

Boxing : Mr.Manoj Kumar (Boxing Men-64 Kg) [NR]; Shooting: Ms. AyonikaPaul (10M Air Rifle) [CR]; Wrestling: Mr. Hardeep Singh(Greeko-Roman) [NR], Ms. Vinesh Phogat [NR] and Ms. Sakshi Malik (Free-Style) [NR], Mr. Sajan Prakash (Swimming) [SWR],Mr. Praveen Rana (Wrestling) [NR];

Weightlifting: Sathish Sivalingam [SR]; Saikhom Mirabai Chanu [NFR],

Hockey Men: Chinglensana Singh K.

Apart from these athletes, 14 Women Hockey players from Indian Railway in Indian Hockey Women team are: Ms. Renuka Yadav [CR], Anuradha Devi T. [RCF], Deep GraceEkka [WR], Deepika [RCF], Sunita Lakra [WR], Sushila Chanu P.[CR], Navjot Kaur [RCF], Vandana Katariya [CR], Lilima Minz[WR], Poonam Rani [NR], Monika [CR], Nikki Pradhan [SCR],Namita Toppo [WR].

It would be evident to mention that theIndian contingent will be mentored by 6 Indian Railway Coaches also who will show their acumen during the world's largest sports event. These are Mr. C.R. Kumar and Mrs. Helen Mary(Hockey/Women), Mr. Kuldeep Malik (Wrestling/Women), Mr. Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting) and Mr. Jagdip Hooda (Boxing/Men). 

For all the Latest Sports News News, Olympics News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Aug 2016, 02:45:00 AM