News Nation Logo


2018 Winter Olympics: Over 2500 athletes from 92 nations to compete for 102 medals in South Korea's PyeongChang

The International Olympic Council Selected Pyeongchang As The Host City During Its 123rd IOC Session Held At Durban In July 2011.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 09 Feb 2018, 01:36:48 PM
2018 Winter Olympics - File Photo

New Delhi:

The 2018 Winter Olympics more famously known as PyeongChang 2018, is an international multi-sport event scheduled to take place from 9 to 25 February 2018 in Pyeongchang County, South Korea. The event has been making the headlines in the media amid the strained political between North Korea and South Korea. 

The International Olympic Council selected Pyeongchang as the host city during its 123rd IOC Session held at Durban in July 2011.

It will also be for the first time that South Korea will host the Winter Olympics. The last time South Korea hosted the multi-sporting extravaganza was at the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul.

This edition of the Games shall feature 102 events in fifteen sports disciplines, including the addition of big air snowboarding, mass start speed skating, mixed doubles curling, and mixed team alpine skiing to the Winter Olympic programme. 

2,952 athletes from 92 National Olympic Committees will compete, including the debut of Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo, Malaysia, Nigeria and Singapore.

North Korea is sending 22 athletes to the Winter Olympics to compete in ice hockey, ice skating and skiing as well as a cheering squad. 

The nation wasn't present in Sochi in 2014, but has been a regular at the Summer Games. They will march together with the South Korea athletes at the opening ceremony under the Korean Unification Flag.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Other Sports News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Feb 2018, 01:35:36 PM

Related Tags:

2018 Winter Olympics