News Nation Logo

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award announced: Sindhu, Sakshi, Dipa Karmakar, Jitu Rai are new sports ratna

Ministry Of Youth Affairs And Sports, On Monday, Announced That PV Sindhu, Sakshi Malik, Dipa Karmakar And Jitu Rai Will Be Conferred Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award By Government Of India On Next Republic Day.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 22 Aug 2016, 05:47:03 PM

New Delhi :

The Central government will confer the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award on Olympians shuttler PV Sindhu, wrestler Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar Dipa Karmakar and ace shooter Jitu Rai.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years and it carries a cash reward of Rs 7.5 lakh.

All four Khel Ratna winners will receive the award from President Pranab Mukherjee on National Sports Day on August 29.

The government has also issued the list of Arjuna award winners, which includes Ajinkya Rahane, Lalita Babar, Shiva Thapa and Apurvi Chandela. A total 15 sportsperson will be awarded for their excellence under this category this year. 

This year’s Dronacharya Award winners include Nagapuri Ramesh (Athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Raj Kumar Sharma (Cricket), Bishweshwar Nandi (Gymnastics), S Pradeep Kumar (Swimming) and Mahabir Singh (Wrestling). 

According to a press release issued by PIB, a large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the selection committees consisting of former Olympians, previous awardees, sports journalists/experts/commentators and sports administrators. 

Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Justice SK Agarwal, Retired Delhi High Court Judge.

Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand Awards was headed by MC Mary Kom. Selection Committee for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Rajiv Yadav, Secretary (Sports).

Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for lifetime contribution to sports development. 

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy. 

Here is the list of sportsperson who will get the sports award this year- 

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ranta 2016 

1. PV Sindhu, Badminton 

2. Dipa Karmakar, Gymnastics 

3. Jitu Rai, Shooting

4. Sakshi Malik, Wrestling 


Dronacharya Awards 2016 

1. Nagapuri Ramesh, Athletics

2. Sagar Mal Dhayal, Boxing

3. Raj Kumar Sharma, Cricket 

4. Bishweshwar Nandi, Gymnastics 

5. S Pradeep Kumar, Swimming (Lifetime) 

6. Mahabir Singh, Wrestling (Lifetime) 


Arjuna Awards 2016  

1. Rajat Chauhan, Archery  

2. Lalita Babar, Athletics  

3. Sourav Kothari, Billiards & Snooker  

4. Shiva Thapa, Boxing  

5. Ajinkya Rahane, Cricket  

6. Subrata Paul, Football  

7. Rani, Hockey  

8. Raghunath VR , Hockey  

9. Gurpreet Singh, Shooting 

10. Apurvi Chandela, Shooting 

11. Soumyajit Ghosh, Table Tennis 

12. Vinesh, Wrestling 

13. Amit Kumar, Wrestling 

14. Sandeep Singh Mann, Para-Athletics 

15. Virender Singh, Wrestling (Deaf) 

Dhyan Chand Award 2015 

1. Satti Geetha, Athletics 

2. Sylvanus Dung Dung, Hockey 

3. Rajendra Pralhad Shelke, Rowing 

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each. Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given Trophies and certificates. Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given MAKA Trophy, award money of Rs. 10 lakh and certificate.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Other Sports News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 22 Aug 2016, 05:43:00 PM