News Nation Logo


Sourabh Varma defeats Lakshya Sen to annex Men's singles crown, Rituparna Das lifts women's title in National Badminton Championship

Sourabh Varma Put Up A Splendid Display Of Badminton To Deny Promising Shuttler Lakshya Sen His Maiden National Title In The Summit Clash To Emerge Men's Singles Champion At The 81st Senior Badminton National Championship In Patna On Tuesday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 08 Feb 2017, 11:40:30 AM
Sourabh Varma - Final Photo

New Delhi:

Seasoned campaigner Sourabh Varma put up a splendid display of badminton to deny promising shuttler Lakshya Sen his maiden national title in the summit clash of the 81st Senior Badminton National Championship in Patna on Tuesday.

Third seed Verma walked away with a 21-13 21-12 win over the junior world number one, who made a lasting impression with his game in this tournament.
Varma dominated the 33-minute contest in which he won 42 points to 25 of his rival.

The women's singles title was lifted by second seed Rituparna Das, who brushed aside the challenge of ninth seed Reshma Karthik 21-21 21-14 in 28 minutes in the final.

The men's doubles crown was taken by third seed pair of Satwik Sai Raj R and Chirag Shetty, who overcame a stiff resistance from Nanda Gopal K and Sanyam Shukla 21-17 16-21 21-14 in a battle of 54 minutes.

The women's doubles title was annexed by third seeds Aparna Balan and Prajakta Sawant, who hardly broke a sweat in beating Shikha Gautam and Sanyogita Ghorpade 21-9 21-11 in 24 minutes.

The top seeded pair of Satwik Sai Raj R and Maneesha K took the mixed doubles crown with a hard fought 21-14 21-18 win over second seeds Venket Gaurav Prasad and Juhi Dewangan.

For all the Latest Sports News News, Other Sports News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Feb 2017, 11:27:00 AM