WhatsApp is all set to make a big change to its famous ‘delete for everyone’ feature, which lets users delete or recall their messages. Currently, the feature lets a user delete a message within seven minutes, but now, WhatsApp is raising the time hurdle to 4,096 seconds.
The instant messaging app will now allow a user to use the ‘delete for everyone’ option on messages for approximately 68 minutes, which means you can delete a message until 68 minutes of time.
The new feature, which is currently available to the beta users with version 2.18.69, also comes with the ability to forward Stickers, which is an upcoming edition to the app.
Most of the beta versions of testing are not necessarily available on the final version. Moreover, the current new development is just available for the Android beta version, while an iOS update is likely on the cards, as per WAbetainfo reports.
The ‘Delete for everyone’ option is one of the most sought after features of the app. It allows a user delete an accidentally sent message to any wrong contact or wrong group. The feature is common to self-destructive messages on other social media platforms like Snapchat and Facebook Messenger.
Since the features roll-out, there have been many other options to see the deleted message. Like, if someone has quoted your message before you could delete, others can see the original message, which makes the feature inactive.
In November 2017, just after the roll-out of the feature, a third-party application called Notification History came into limelight, which showed the deleted messages as part of the complete notification history log despite being deleted by others. The app also notified at what time did a sender deleted a message.