News Nation Logo

Modi government compulsorily retires 15 senior indirect tax officers

The Narendra Modi government on Tuesday compulsorily retired 15 very senior officers under Rule 56 (j). The officers are of the ranks of Principal Commissioner, Commissioner, Additional Commissioner, and Deputy Commissioner of Central Board of Indirect Taxes and Customs (CBIC). The step comes days after in a similar way, the government had directed 12 senior officers, including the Chief Commissioner, Principal Commissioners and the Commissioner of Income Tax Department to retire under Rule FR 56 (J) of the Central Civil Services (CCS) on June 10.

Updated : 18 June 2019, 04:41 PM