News Nation Logo

Setback for Mamata as 2 Trinamool MLAs, over 50 councillors join BJP

Two Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLAs and one CPM lawmaker and more than 50 councilors from West Bengal joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at the party headquarters in New Delhi on Tuesday. "Like the elections were held in seven phases in West Bengal, joinings in the BJP will also happen in seven phases. Today was just the first phase," Kailash Vijayvargiya, BJP National General Secretary, said at a press conference where the lawmakers joined the BJP. Suspended TMC MLA Subhrangshu Roy was among MLAs who joined the BJP.

Updated : 28 May 2019, 04:50 PM