News Nation Logo

Pakistan Election Results: Imran Khan set to form a government

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 26 Jul 2018, 08:22:49 AM
Pakistan Election Results LIVE: Imran Khan set to become new PM as PTI nears century

New Delhi:

Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) was leading over Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) as counting of votes in Pakistan, which went to polls on Wednesday, was underway.

According to local media reports, PTI was leading in over 90 seats against PML-N’s 35. PTI chief Imran Khan won Karachi East, one of the five constituencies contested.

According to the data released by the Election Commission of India, a total of 849 directly elected seats, including 272 in the National Assembly (NA) and 577 seats in provincial Assemblies (PA) – Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan & Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, were at the stake.

As many as 3,459 candidates — 1,623 from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and 287 from Balochistan — were in the fray for the 272 seats of the national assembly.

Earlier, the long and eventful day of voting in Pakistan to elect its new prime minister ended at 6 pm. Despite the unprecedented security, the 11th general elections in Pakistan were marred with violence as at least 32 people, mostly voters, killed in a suicide blast outside a polling booth in Quetta.

Pakistan Election Results 2018 Highlights:

# 08:00 AM: Imran Khan's spokesperson Naeemul Haque said that the PTI chief will “address the nation” on Thursday at 2 pm, reports Pakistani media.

# 07:50 AM: Jubilant PTI supporters start celebration.

# 07:47 AM: PTI chief Imran Khan has bagged NA-95 (Mianwali) with 1,27,530 votes, reports ARY News.

# 07:46 AM: As per the rules, Election Commission of Pakistan officials are bound to provide results on Form 45, instead results were handed out on plain paper in Khi & Hyderabad.

# 07:30 AM: Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has got NA-135, NA-3, NA-54, according to unofficial results.

# NA-135: PTI's Malik Kamramat Ali Khokar won by bagging 64,756 votes and defeated PML-N's Malik Saiful Malook Khokar, who received 55,431 votes.

# NA-3: PTI's Saleem Rehman won with 68,162 votes.

# NA-54: PTI's Asad Umer won with 56,954 votes.

01:55 AM: Fault in ECP result transmission system: Fault in ECP Result Transmission System behind delay in results: reports

#01:00 AM: PPP questions authenticity of poll results: Like the PML-N, the PPP and several other parties have also expressed serious concerns over the delay in the release of official results and the alleged expulsion of their polling agents from polling stations during counting of the votes for general elections 2018.

#12:30 AM: PML-N rejects election results: PML-N president Shahbaz Sharif, in a late night press conference on Wednesday, rejected the poll results, alleging "blatant violation of public's mandate".

#11:45 PM: Ray of hope for Imran Khan in Pakistan's dismal political scenario: Imran Khan’s mother had died of cancer and he wanted to honour his mother’s memory by making cancer care available to the poor. Everybody lauded him for his philantrophy, but Pakistanis did not take Imran Khan’s PTI seriously. Most people, while appreciating his cricketing achievements and his social work....Read the full article here

#11:25 PM: Imran Khan's PTI scores century: Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has taken a landslide lead in the General Elections of Pakistan. According to current trends, the party was leading in 112 seats against PML-N's 52 and PPPP's 34.

#11:10 PM: PML-N Alleges Rigging in Elections: After MQM-P and PML-N, PPPP and PSP have also claimed that their polling agents were not allowed inside some polling stations during the counting process and are not being provided with Form 45. According to media reports, the party has called an emergency meeting to discuss further course of action.

#11:00 PM: PTI vice chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi wins: Vice chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Shah Mahmood Qureshi wins  NA 156, Multan.

# 10:50 PM: Imran Kahn's PTI nears century: Imran Khan is set to become the new prime minister of Pakistan as his party was just 38 seats short of the majority mark. According to the trends, his party was leading in 99 seats against PMLN's 54. Bilawal Bhutto's PPP was a distant third with its candidates leading in just 33 seats. Current Trends: PTI 99 | PML-N 54 | PPP 31 | OTHERS 59 

#09:20 PM: Peoploe of Pakistan rejects Hafiz Saeed: In a major setback to 2008 Mumbai terror attacks mastermind Hafiz Saeed, his political outfit Milli Muslim League was not leading in any of the 272 National Assembly seats. The Milli Muslim League has contested 73 seats.

#08:40 PM: Irregularities in the counting process?: MQM-Pakistan leader Faisal Subzwari alleged that the district returning officers (DRO) and presiding officers in three constituencies of Karachi and two constituencies of Hyderabad were refusing to give form 45 to his party's candidates.

#08:20 PM: Imran Khan's PTI stretches lead: Furthering its lead over the rival PML-N, Imran Khan's PTI was ahead in 60 seats. PML-N was at number two with lead in 35 seats. 

#07:30 PM: Violence marred polling: Earlier in the day, polling in Pakistan was marred by violence. As many as 32 people were killed and scores others sustained serious injuries in a suicide blast outside a polling booth in Balochistan's Quetta. Apart from that, a grenade attack at a polling station in Koshk village of Balochistan’s Khuzdar left a policeman dead and three others injured. Incidents of firing were also reported at several polling stations across the country. Pakistan Election 2018: As it happened

#07:10 PM: Imran Khan's PTI takes early lead: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is leading on 35 directly elected seats against PML-N's 20. Bilawal Bhutto Zardari's Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) was distant third with its candidates leading only in 8 seats.

#7:00 PM: Hello and welcome to the news nation live updates on Pakistan general election results 2018: Counting of votes for the 272-seat of Pakistan National Assembly is underway, According to early trends, Imran Khan's PTI was leading over Nawaz Sharif's PML-N with a good margin. If the trends remained static, Imran Khan will take oath as Pakistan's new prime minister. Stay with us as we bring all the latest updates and information on Pakistan election results.

For all the Latest World News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jul 2018, 10:56:21 PM