News Nation Logo

Pakistan Election Results: Imran Khan likely to become new Pak PM; promises wide-ranging reforms

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 26 Jul 2018, 07:04:31 PM
Pakistan Election Results LIVE: Imran Khan set to form a government (Photo: Twitter)

New Delhi:

The counting of votes soon after the polling of the historic general elections in Pakistan on Wednesday continued over on Thursday. Counting of votes is underway amid foul cries from the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N). Shahbaz Sharif, PML-N president alleged that the election process was rigged and warned of protests.

"We will use all political and legal options for redressal of these glaring excesses. This is an outright rigging and the results based on massive rigging will cause irreparable damage to the country," he said in a tweet.

As per unofficial reports till morning, Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Islam is leading in 113 seats in Pakistan, followed by PML-N with 64 seats. Bilawal Bhutto's PPP falls at third place with 43 seats.

Here's the News Nation highlights of the Pakistan General Election results 2018:

#06:05 PM: Imran promises Imran's promises at a glance: All policies for ordinary citizens; Safeguard tax revenue; Decrease govt expenses; Strengthen institutions; Across-the-board accountability for all; Increase youth employment; Help farmers, business community; Spend money on development; Repurpose PM House; Address ties with China, Afghanistan, Iran, US, India

#05:50 PM: "I want to commend the people of Balochistan. The type of terrorism and tragedy they have suffered from, and they still came out to vote, I want to commend them on behalf of the entire country," Imran Khan said, adding that "many people have made sacrifices for this election. We want to commend the security forces."

#05:40 PM: God has given us this chance to implement the manifesto that I brought forward 22 years ago, Imran Khan said. "I want to clarify why I entered politics. Politics could not have given me anything. I wanted Pakistan to become the country that my leader Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah had dreamed of."

#05:30 PM: PTI chief Imran Khan addresses media in Islamabad as his party takes a decisive lead in 11th Pakistan general elections.

#04:50 PM: PTI chief Imran Khan wins NA-53 (Islamabad-II) with 92,891 votes; PML-N's Shahid Khaqan Abbasi runner up with 44,314 votes.

#04:05 PM: PTI's Aamir Liaquat Hussain wins NA-245 (Karachi-IV) with 56,615 votes; MQM's Farooq Sattar runner up with 35,247 votes.

#03:30 PM: PML-N's Muhammad Hamza Shahbaz Sharif wins NA-124 (Lahore-II) with 146,294 votes; PTI's Muhammad Nauman Qaiser runner up with 80,981 votes.

# 03:00 PM: PTI’s Sadaqat Ali Abbasi defeats PML-N’s Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, the former prime minister of Pakistan, in NA-57 Murree, unofficial results from all polling stations.

# 02:30 PM: "The election was completely rigged, one of the worst elections in the history of Pakistan. We will not accept the result. All major political parties who rejected the result — PML-N, PPP, MMA, NP, etc. — will hold a press conference on Friday in Islamabad in order to decide their future course of action concerning the rigged elections," Senator Mir Hasil Khan Bezinjo, the National Party president told the Guardian.

# 02:00 PM: Shehbaz Sharif loses NA-3 with 22,756 votes, to PTI's Saleem Rehman, who received 68,162 votes. However, Sharif won NA-132

# 01:20 PM: PTI drops lead ahead in 111 seats PML-N leading in 68 seats, states Pakistani media reports.

# 12:15 PM: PML-N's Saad Rafique has won PP-168 Lahore with 34,114 votes. He defeated PTI's Fayyaz Bhatti.

# 11:30 AM: Pakistan will have to wait until Thursday evening for official results to be announced, ECP officials have said.

# 10:45 AM: PML-N chief Shehbaz Sharif's son, Muhammad Hamza Shehbaz Sharif has bagged NA-124 (Lahore II) with 1,46,294 votes, defeating PTI's Muhammad Nauman Qaiser, as per Pakistani media.

# 10:30 AM: As per latest unofficial trends on Pakistani media, PTI leading on 119 seats, PMLN on 61 seats & PPP on 40.

# 10:20 AM: Vice-president of PTI, Shah Mehmood Qureshi may become the country's next foreign minister at a crucial time.

# 10:15 AM: As per latest unofficial trends on Pakistani media, PTI’s Imran Khan wins NA-53 Islamabad 2 with 92,891 votes

# 09:25 AM: A massive setback for former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as he is losing both seats from his home constituency NA-57 (Rawalpindi-I) and NA-53 (Islamabad II). 

# 09:13 AM: Balochistan results so far: 

  • Balochistan Awami Party: 14
  • Balochistan National Party: 08
  • Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal: 08 
  • Independents: 04

# 09:00 AM: Many polling booths in Lahore were in poor conditions, with frequent power cuts and no refreshments for election officers, say Pakistan media reports. “We have no break and no support staff. We all have been thirsty since morning, but no one provided us with water. Can anyone explain why has this happened to us?” a leading Pakistani daily quoted an assistant presiding officer (APO) Muhammad Rizwan as saying. 

# 08:35 AM: PPP chief Bilawal Bhutto leads in NA-246 Karachi against PTI’s Abdul Shakur.

# 08:26 AM: Antonio Guterres, UN Secretary-General on Thursday condemned the killing of dozens at Quetta in a suicide attack. The suicide bombing was claimed by the terror group Islamic State.

"The Secretary-General condemns the suicide attack at a polling station in Quetta claimed by Da'esh," his spokesperson Stephane Dujarric said in a statement, using the Arabic name for Islamic State. "He extends his heartfelt condolences to the families of the victims and to the government and people of Pakistan."

# 08:20 AM: As per unofficial results, PP won 13 provincial seats in Singh. 

# 08:00 AM: Imran Khan's spokesperson Naeemul Haque said that the PTI chief will “address the nation” on Thursday at 2 pm, reports Pakistani media.

# 07:50 AM: Jubilant PTI supporters start celebrations.

# 07:47 AM: PTI chief Imran Khan has bagged NA-95 (Mianwali) with 1,27,530 votes, reports ARY News.

# 07:46 AM: As per the rules, Election Commission of Pakistan officials are bound to provide results on Form 45, instead results were handed out on plain paper in Khi & Hyderabad.

# 07:30 AM: Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf has got NA-135, NA-3, NA-54, according to unofficial results.

# NA-135: PTI's Malik Kamramat Ali Khokar won by bagging 64,756 votes and defeated PML-N's Malik Saiful Malook Khokar, who received 55,431 votes.

# NA-3: PTI's Saleem Rehman won with 68,162 votes.

# NA-54: PTI's Asad Umer won with 56,954 votes.

For all the Latest World News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jul 2018, 08:21:57 AM