News Nation Logo


Scott Morrison becomes new Australian Prime Minister after party rivals oust Malcolm Turnbull

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 24 Aug 2018, 11:47:03 AM
New Australia PM Scott Morrison (Photo: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Scott Morrison on Thursday became the new Prime Minister of Australia after party rivals ousted Malcolm Turnbull, according to local media reports. Turnbull was under pressure to quit ahead of looming elections due to his poor performance and revolt by conservative MPs.

Morrison, the current treasurer, won 45 votes against former Home Affairs Minister Peter Dutton’s 40 in an internal Liberal Party ballot. Leadership candidate Julie Bishop failed to garner enough votes and knocked out in the first round.

Also Read | ‘Everyone will turn poor’, says Donald Trump on prospect of being impeached

Turnbull, who became 29th Australian PM in 2015 following a spill Tony Abbott, had to face revolt after receiving a petition from a majority of Liberal MPs demanding a ballot to select a new leader.

The ousted Australian leader also hinted that he will resign from Parliament. If he resigned, a byelection will be held in his seat of Wentworth. This is the 6th time since 2007 elections that Australia has changed its prime minister.

Also Read | New book to reveal women in Donald Trump’s life

Besides, Energy and Environment Minister Josh Frydenberg was elected as the new Deputy Liberal under the Morrison.  Frydenberg will replace Julie Isabel Bishop, who had served under Turnbull and Tony Abbott.

For all the Latest World News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Aug 2018, 08:34:36 AM