News Nation Logo

Meghalaya, Nagaland Election 2018 live updates: 1 dead, 2 injured in clash in Akuluto constituency in Nagaland Live

The Results Of The Polls In The Two States, Along With That Of Tripura, Will Be Declared On March 3. Buoyed By The Formation Of Governments In Assam, Manipur And Arunachal Pradesh, The BJP Is Making A Determined Bid To Expand Its Footprint In The North-east.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 27 Feb 2018, 02:51:56 PM

New Delhi:

Voting for Assembly elections in the two north-eastern states of Meghalaya and Nagaland begins on Tuesday amid tight security.

Polling will be held between 7 am and 4 pm, except in some polling stations of the interior districts of Nagaland, where the process is scheduled to conclude at 3 pm.

The two states have a 60-member House each, but voting will be held for 59 constituencies in both.

In Meghalaya, the election has been countermanded in Williamnagar in the wake of the killing of NCP candidate Jonathone N Sangma in an IED blast in East Garo Hills district on February 18.

In Nagaland, NDPP chief Neiphiu Rio has been declared elected unopposed from the Northern Angami-II constituency.

The results of the polls in the two states, along with that of Tripura, will be declared on March 3.

Buoyed by the formation of governments in Assam, Manipur and Arunachal Pradesh, the BJP is making a determined bid to expand its footprint in the north-east.

A total of 361 candidates are in the fray, while over 18.4 lakh voters can exercise their voting rights. Out of the 3,000 polling booths, webcasting will be done at 193 polling stations, while 312 micro observers have been deployed.

Here are the Live updates:

# 01:33 PM: Voter turnout till 1 pm- : 27.75% ; : 56%

# 01:26 PM: 1 person dead, 2 injured after clash erupted between groups of Naga People's Front and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party near a polling booth in Akuluto, Nagaland. The polling process was not disturbed.

# 01:06 PM:  CM Mukul Sangma casts his vote at polling booth number 25 in Chengkompara. 

# 12:20 PM: Meghalaya's incumbent chief minister Mukul Sangma stands in a queue to cast his vote at a polling station in Ampati from where he is contesting. He is also contesting from a second constituency, Songsak.

# 12:15 PM: AAP candidate poorest in Nagaland 

# 12:10 AM: Over half of all candidates crorepatis, JD(U)'s Ramongo Lotha richest with Rs 38.92 crore, finds report

# 11:56 AM: 38% voter turnout recorded in Nagaland and 20% voter turnout recorded in Meghalaya till 11 am

# 11:14 AM: Sophia Nongsiej, 94, casts her vote at Nongpoh Proper polling station

#10:30 AM Governor of Meghalaya Ganga Prasad cast his vote at Oakland A4 polling booth at MTDC Office North in Shillong

# 10:00 AM: Voting halted in Ladigarh polling station due to tension along Assam-Nagaland Border under Tamlu constituency in Longleng district of Nagaland.

# 09:57 AM: Hope people will turn out in large numbers and vote for us, says Conrad Sangma

# 09:40 AM: IPR Minister and Congress candidate from East Shillong, Ampareen Lyngdoh, just cast her vote at Laitumkhrah

# 09:35 AM: While 22 percent voting was recorded in Meghalaya till 9:30 am, the number was slightly lower at 17 percent in Nagaland till 9 am.

# 09:30 AM: WATCH:  Nagaland CEO tells voters 'don’t stay idle at home on election day'

# 09:06 AM: We expect that polling will finish smoothly & we will get absolute majority as per voice of the people. We hope peace will prevail in the state & we will move for Naga political solution: Nagaland CM TR Zeliang

# 09:04 AM: One person injured in a bomb blast in a polling station Mon District's Tizit

# 08:21 AM:  Voting underway at a polling station in Peren district's Jalukie of Nagaland

# 08:11 AM: Voting underway at Shillong model polling station North; Congress' Roshan Warjri is the sitting MLA from North Shillong.

# 07:42 AM: I urge the people of Meghalaya and Nagaland to vote in large numbers in the Assembly Elections taking place today.

# 7:31 AM: Voting begins at Shillong model polling station North after it was delayed due to issues with the EVM

# 7:23 AM: Voting delayed at Shillong model polling station North due to issues with the EVM

# 7:06 AM: Voting begins for 59 seats each in Meghalaya and Nagaland

# 06:47 AM: Voters queue up outside Chengkompara-25 polling station in Ampatigiri; CM Mukul Sangma is the sitting MLA from the constituency.

# 06:40 AM: Polling to begin shortly at Shillong model polling station North for 59 seats in the state

# 06:20 AM: Meghalaya, Nagaland to undergo assembly polls today, voting to be held for 59 seats each. Polling will be held between 7 am and 4 pm.

# Visuals of preparation from Shillong. 

For all the Latest Assembly Elections News, Assembly Elections News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Feb 2018, 06:42:21 AM