News Nation Logo

From Sunny Deol to Urmila Matondkar, here’s how star candidates fared in Lok Sabha Polls

BJP’s Gamble To Field Sunny Deol From The Gurdaspur Constituency Finally Paid Off With The Bollywood Actor Winning The Seat By Defeating Congress Heavyweight And Sitting MP Sunil Jakhar

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 24 May 2019, 03:05:51 PM
Results for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 that was held in seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19 were out on Thursday

New Delhi:

Results for the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 that was held in seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19 were out on Thursday. The 2019 Lok Sabha Elections saw several celebrity contestants. Prime Minister Narendra Modi led his Bharatiya Janata Party to a super-sized victory for a second term in office, as his message of nationalism, security, Hindu pride and a New India was wholeheartedly embraced by voters across large swathes of the country.

From Sunny Deol to Urmila Matondkar, here’s how star candidates fared in Lok Sabha Polls


Sunny Deol: BJP’s gamble to field Sunny Deol from the Gurdaspur constituency finally paid off with the Bollywood actor winning the seat by defeating Congress heavyweight and sitting MP Sunil Jakhar. Deol, 59, defeated the Punjab Congress chief with a margin of 82,459 votes.

Mimi Chakraborty: She defeated BJP’s Anupam Hazra by 295239 votes. The actor turned politician took to her Twitter handle and wrote: “I pledge to work for u all.. As i always say u guys are my pride my honour my backbone to stand upright nd will always be Thank you (sic).”

Nusrat Jahan: TMC’s renowned Bengali actress Nusrat Jahan was the clear favourites among the votes as she won by a margin of 3, 50, 369 votes.

Gautam Gambhir: Cricketer-turned-politician and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Gautam Gambhir won from East Delhi constituency in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls by over 3 lakh votes. 

Hema Malini: Actor-turned-politician Hema Malini on Friday won the Mathura Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 2,93,471 votes. This is the second time the BJP candidate has retained her sway in the city of Hindi heartland. 

Kirron Kher: She got her second consecutive victory on the BJP ticket from the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat. Kher drubbed her nearest rival Pawan Kumar Bansal of the Congress by a margin of 46,970 votes.

Ravi Kishan: He won by over two lakh votes against the SP-BSP alliance candidate Ram Bhuwal Nishad from the Gorakhpur constituency.

Babul Supriyo: BJP’s Babul Supriyo won Asansol Lok Sabha seat by defeating rival Trinamool Congress’ candidate Moon Moon Sen by a huge margin of 1.97 lakh votes. 

Manoj Tiwari: Bhojpuri singer and actor Manoj Tiwari won from North East Delhi, defeating AAP’s Anand Kumar by 1,44,084 votes.

Deepak Adhikari Dev: Trinamool Congress candidate Deepak Adhikari (Dev) won West Bengal’s Ghatal Lok Sabha seat, defeating his BJP rival and former IPS officer Bharati Ghosh.

Hans Raj Hans: Singer-turned-politician Hans Raj Hans won the North West Delhi seat. Hans made his political debut with Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and contested the Lok Sabha elections from Jalandhar in 2009, but faced defeat. He later shifted his allegiance to Congress but quit the party after his name was dropped at the eleventh hour in favour of former Punjab Congress chief Shamsher Singh Dullo for Rajya Sabha.

Stars who lost

Urmila Matondkar: Actress-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar suffered defeat. In her electoral debut, the actor contested against BJP veteran Gopal Shetty.

Moon Moon Sen: Actor-politician Moon Moon Sen, was defeated by Babul Supriyo by 197637 votes in Bengal’s Asansol.

Prakash Raj: Raj, a vocal critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, had only got around 26,000 votes in the constituency where BJP’s P. C. Mohan won.

Vijender Singh: The boxer came third on the seat, which incumbent BJP MP Ramesh Bidhuri won with a huge margin of over 3.7 lakh votes. Singh, who got 1.64 lakh votes, trailed behind AAP’s Raghav Chadha, who got 3.19 lakh votes.

Shatrughan Sinha: Star campaigner for Congress Sinha, 72, secured a little over 3.20 lakh votes while his main competitor RS Prasad secured over six lakh votes.

Jaya Prada: Actor-turned-politician Jaya Prada lost from the Rampur constituency in Uttar Pradesh by around 1 lakh votes. She contested the 2019 Lok Sabha elections against Samajwadi Party’s Azam Khan, who won from the seat, and Congress candidate Sanjay Kapoor. 

Kirti Azad: Cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad contested from the Dhanbad Lok Sabha constituency in Jharkhand for Congress and lost to BJP’s Pashupati Nath Singh.

Locket Chatterjee: BJP’s Locket Chatterjee won by 73,362 votes. Hooghly Lok Sabha constituency voted in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections on May 6. 

Dinesh Lal Yadav Nirahua: BJP candidate Nirahua was defeated by Samajwadi Party supremo Akhilesh Yadav from the Azamgarh seat by over 2.59 lakh votes.

For all the Latest Election News, Lok Sabha Election 2019 News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 May 2019, 03:05:51 PM