News Nation Logo


Rajasthan Elections 2018: Turnout recorded till 5 pm is 72.7%

Voting To Begin At 8 Am And Will End At 5 Pm In The 199 Constituencies

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 07 Dec 2018, 08:32:37 PM
Over 2,000 candidates are in the fray for 199 Assembly seats in Rajasthan. (Photo: BJP4Rajasthan/Twitter)

New Delhi:

The highly anticipated polling in the 199 constituencies in Rajasthan will take place on Friday. It is a clear fight between the BJP and the Congress, where Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje will try to retain her seat while the Congress is banking on the anti-incumbency wave against the BJP chief minister. As many as 2,274 candidates including 187 women are in the fray for 199 out of the 200 assembly constituencies in the state.

According to election officials, polling will take place from 8 am to 5 pm on 7 December in 199 constituencies. The election in Alwar district's Ramgarh constituency has been postponed due to the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Laxman Singh.

According to the State Election Commission, there are 4,77,89,815 voters in the state among whom, 2,28,28,018 are female and 2,49,61,560 male voters. There are 1,16,944 service voters whereas 15 NRI electors and 222 third gender electors in the state.

Rajasthan Elections 2018 Highlights:

5.15 pm: Voter turnout recorded till 5 PM is 72.7 per cent.

4:02 pm: Voter turnout recorded till 3 PM in Rajasthan Elections 2018 is 59.43 per cent.

3.02 pm: Vehicles were set ablaze and vandalised in a clash which broke out between two groups at a polling booth at Subhash School in Sikar's Fatehpur today. Voting remained affected for 30 minutes. Miscreants were later removed from the spot by police and voting resumed.

1.20 pm:41.53 per cent voter turnout recorded till 1 pm.

12.32 pm: Ghatol in Banswada records highest voter turnout at 28.87 percent in the first three hours of polling. People seem to be quite enthusiastic about polling.

12.30 pm: 97-year-old Nagender Singh Chouhan and his 85-year-old wife Yuvraj Kuwar cast their votes at a polling station in Jhalawar.

12.10 pm: Erstwhile royals of Jodhpur, Gaj Singh and his wife cast their votes at polling booth no. 194 in Sardarpura constituency.

11.29 am: Shajha, a 105-year-old woman casts her vote at a polling booth in Kishanpura, Jaipur. Family says, "There is no facility of wheel chair in this polling booth. We had to carry her inside the polling station so that she could vote."

11.25 am: Union minister Arjun Ram Meghwal stands in a queue to cast his vote at polling booth no. 172 in Bikaner.

11.20 am: 21.89 per cent voter turnout till 11 am.

Watch More |

10.52 am: Voters create ruckus at polling booth no. 253 and 254 in Ahor constituency of Jalore as voting has been halted following EVM malfunction.

10.50 am: BJP state president Madan Lal Saini cast his vote. He was also critical of Sharad Yadav's comment on Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and said that he should apologise.

10.35 am: EVM is being replaced at polling booth no. 172 in Bikaner's Kisamidesar following a technical issue.

10.09 am: Congress leader Ashok Gehlot cast his vote at polling booth no. 106 in Jodhpur.

09.50 am: Voter turnout is 6.11% till 9 am.

09.41 am: Union Minister of State for Agriculture Gajendra Singh Shekhawat cast his vote at polling booth 128 in Jodhpur.

09.36 am: A 90-year-old man arrives at polling booth no. 104 in Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur district to cast his vote.

09.29 am: Voting yet to begin in polling booth number 253 and 254 in Ahor following EVM malfunction.

09.19 am: State Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria cast his vote at a polling station in Udaipur.

09.11 am: CM Vasundhara Raje on Sharad Yadav's remark 'Vasundhara (Raje) ko aaram do, thak gayi hain, bahut moti ho gayi hain': To set an example for future it's important that EC takes cognisance of this kind of language. I actually feel insulted&I think even women are insulted.

09.10 am: Every single vote counts. We have to cast our vote today by thinking who is actually taking the nation forward, Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore in Vaishali Nagar, Jaipur said.

09.03 am: Sachin Pilot, Congress on CM face from Congress: We will sit and discuss this after our party gets a majority in the election.

08.56 am: Union Minister Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore casts his vote at polling booth 252 in Vaishali Nagar, Jaipur.

08.50 am: An 80-year-old woman cast her vote at booth no. 103 in Sardarpura constituency of Jodhpur district.

#08.41 am: Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje casts her vote at polling booth no. 31A in Jhalrapatan constituency of Jhalawar.

Read More | Telangana Assembly Elections 2018 LIVE: Voting begins in 119 seats, technical glitch reported from Hyderabad

#07.56 am: Rajasthan Home Minister Gulab Chand Kataria offers prayers at Shiv temple in Udaipur before casting his vote.

#07.35 am: Mock polling being conducted at booth no. 106 in Jodhpur's Sardarpura constituency. Voting will begin at 8 am in the state.

Also Read | Cabinet approves India's first agriculture export policy, seeks to double farmers' income by 2022

#06.45 am:

#06.26 am: 

Voter turnout recorded till 5 PM in is 72.7%

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Dec 2018, 07:04:15 AM