News Nation Logo


Uttar Pradesh, Bihar Bypolls Highlights: 43% turnout in Gorakhpur, 37.39% in Phulpur

Gorakhpur, Phulpur Bypolls LIVE Updates: After Losing By-elections In Rajasthan And Madhya Pradesh, UP By-polls Have Become A Matter Of Great Prestige For The BJP, That Recently Won Big In Northeast Assembly Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 11 Mar 2018, 06:44:56 PM
Gorakhpur, Phulpur By-elections LIVE Updates: Litmus test for UP CM Yogi Adityanath, SP-BSP alliance (ANI Photo)

New Delhi:

Voting for the Lok Sabha by-polls is being held in Uttar Pradesh (UP) CM Yogi Adityanath's home district Gorakhpur and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya's constituency Phulpur.

After losing by-elections in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh by-polls have become a matter of great prestige for the BJP, that recently won big in Northeast Assembly elections.

The by-polls in UP will also be crucial for the new SP-BSP pre-poll arrangement. BSP has decided not to fight the by-elections and asked it's party voters to vote to defeat the BJP.

Apart from UP, by-polls are also being held in Bihar's Araria Lok Sabha seat and two other assembly seats, the first litmus test for CM Nitish Kumar after joining hands with BJP.

Here are the live updates:

# Uttar Pradesh, Bihar Bypolls: 43% polling in Gorakhpur, 37.39% in Phulpur

# Phulpur ByPoll: Voter turnout till 5 pm 38%.

# Voting continues for Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by-poll.

# Phulpur ByPoll: Voter turnout till 3 pm 26.6%

# UP Health Minister Sidharth Nath Singh casts his vote in Phulpur

# Araria by-poll: An elderly woman casts her vote with the help of family members.

# Bihar: 31.25% voter turnout recorded in Araria Lok Sabha by-poll & 24.5% in Bhabua & 28.6% in Jehanabad assembly by-polls till 12 noon

# UP by-polls: 16.80% voter turnout recorded in Gorakhpur & 12.20% in Phulpur, till 11 am.

# Minister of State for Finance Shiv Pratap Shukla cast his vote in Gorakhpur

# Jehanabad (Bihar) Assembly By-Poll: People queue up at a polling station in the area.

# BJP will win both the by-polls with massive majority & on the basis of PM Modi's governance of development, 2019 election results will also be good for the BJP: UP CM Yogi Adityanath

# Voting underway in Gorakhpur.

# Araria: Complaint lodged against Bihar BJP state President Nityanand Rai' on charges of violating model code of conduct for his comment stating ' If Sarfaraz Alam (RJD candidate) wins the bypoll then Araria will become the hub of ISI.

# Gorakhpur: Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath casts his vote for #GorakhpurByPoll at a polling station, says 'For development and good governance, BJP is necessary.'

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Mar 2018, 07:39:47 AM