News Nation Logo

Karnataka By-Elections 2018: Bellary records highest turnout

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 03 Nov 2018, 11:55:15 PM
By-elections to 3 Lok Sabha, 2 assembly segments in Karnataka today (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

Nearly six months after the high-pitched political drama in state assembly elections 2018, by-polls to three Lok Sabha and two assembly segments in Karnataka started on Saturday, November 3, 2018. The polls are significant as it will test the Congress-Janata Dal-Secular combine, who has been questioned many a time over the longevity of their government.

The coalition partners, however, have termed the November 3 by-polls a 'prelude' to the May 2019 Lok Sabha elections and called for a united opposition to root out the ruling BJP at the national level.

The high-voltage campaign, which ended on Thursday, was apparently a blame game for the BJP and the JDS-Congress Combine as they slammed each other over various issues, including defections.

Meanwhile, in a big blow to the BJP, its candidate against Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy's wife returned to the Congress two days before the Ramanagara assembly by-poll. With L Chandrashekar quitting the party, it is expected to be a cakewalk for Kumaraswamy's wife Anita Kumaraswamy in Ramanagara.

Read | Madhya Pradesh Assembly Election 2018: Major issues that may impact the polls

Polling in the by-polls to three Lok Sabha seats  - Ballari, Shivamogga, Mandya and two assembly segments Ramanagara and Jamkhandi will be held between 7 am to 6 pm Saturday, with a total of 54,54,275 voters eligible to cast their franchise in about 6,450 polling stations.

There are a total of 31 candidates in the fray in all the five constituencies, though the contest is mainly between the Congress-JDS combine and the BJP.

While the Congress has fielded its candidates in Jamkhandi and Ballari, JD-S is contesting in Shivamogga, Ramanagara and Mandya under an electoral understanding.

In Jamkhandi, Congress candidate Anand Nyamagowda, son of former MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, is pitted against Srikant Kulkarni of the BJP.

In Shivamogga, state BJP chief B S Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra is testing his fortunes against another former chief minister Bangarappa’s son Madhu Bangarappa of the JD-S.

In Bellary, senior BJP leader Sriramulu’s sister J Shantha is fighting against VS Ugrappa of the Congress, considered an outsider.

Read | Assembly Elections 2018: BJP releases first list of 177 candidates for MP; 24 and 28 candidates list for Mizoram, Telangana

In the Vokkaliga bastion of Mandya, JD-S’s Shivarame Gowda is pitted against a fresh face in Dr Siddaramaiah, a retired Commercial Tax officer from the BJP.

Counting of votes will take place on November 6.

Congress and JDS came together in a post-poll alliance after the May 2018 assembly elections. The BJP, which emerged as the single largest party in the assembly poll, was eight seats short of the majority mark (112) while the Congress-JDS coalition had the support of 116 members in the Karnataka Assembly.

Therefore, the JDS-Congress combine had decided to face the polls unitedly against the BJP, which they consider as their common enemy.

Read | Will work together to defeat BJP, save India, says Rahul Gandhi after meeting TDP chief Naidu

Here are the highlights of Karnataka by-election 2018:

Karnataka: 61.05 %, 63.85% & 53.93 % voting recorded in parliamentary constituencies Shimoga, Bellary & Mandya respectively. 73.71 & 81.58 voting recorded in legislative assembly constituencies Ramanagaram & Jamkhandi respectively. Voting has concluded.

The voting in the three Lok Sabha and two Assembly constituencies of the state have concluded, with the Bellary parliamentary constituency recording the highest voter turnout on Saturday, according to ANI.

At least 42.6% polling was recorded till 3 pm in five constituencies.

The turnout for the five constituencies was — Bellary 35.72%, Shimoga 41.49%, Mandya 37.7%, Jamkhandi 43.5% voting and Ramnagar 54.76%.

About 35% polling reported till 1 pm in Karnataka by-polls

Karnataka: BJP MLA B Sriramulu cast his vote at polling station no. 52 in Bellary city

Madhu Bangarappa, JDS candidate from the parliamentary constituency of Shimoga cast his vote at a polling booth in Kubtur

Anand Nyamagouda, Congress candidate from legislative assembly constituency of Jamkhandi casts his vote at polling booth number 125

Voting turnout till 9 am: Parliamentary constituencies Bellary 4.40%, Shimoga 8.61% and Mandya 4.18%. Legislative assembly constituencies Jamkhandi 9% and Ramnagar 8%

A snake being removed from polling booth 179 in Mottedoddi of Ramanagaram

People queue up outside booth no. 50 in Hirepadasalgi village of Jamkhandi to cast their votes for Karnataka By-election 2018

BJP candidate Srikant Kulkarni casts his vote at booth no. 150 in Hirepadasalgi village of Jamkhandi

Former Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa casts his vote at a polling booth in ward no 132 at Shikaripura in Shimoga

101% my son (BS Raghavendra) is going to win the Shimoga seat. We are also going to win Bellary & Jamkhandi. We will get the absolute majority in all the constituencies: Former Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa

Former Karnataka CM BS Yeddyurappa and his son BS Raghavendra visit Hucharaya Swamy Temple in Shimoga. BS Raghavendra is contesting from the parliamentary constituency of Shimoga.

Voting begins in Karnataka byelections 2018: Voting for the bypolls to the three Lok Sabha and two assembly constituencies in Karnataka began on Saturday, which is seen as a litmus test for the ruling Congress-JDS coalition.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Nov 2018, 07:19:57 AM