News Nation Logo


Aaron Finch replaces Tim Paine as Australia ODI captain for South Africa series

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Siddharth Vishwanathan | Updated on: 27 Oct 2018, 09:38:16 AM
Aaron Finch will lead the Australia side for the upcoming three ODIs against South Africa starting in November. (Image source: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Aaron Finch, the current captain of the Australia Twenty20 side, will also be the skipper for the three-match ODI series against South Africa starting in November.

Finch takes over from Tim Paine, who averaged a dismal 7.2 in the previous series against England when Australia were whitewashed 5-0 for only the second time in ODI history. In addition to Paine, Mitchell Marsh was axed after a poor series in the UAE while spinner Nathan Lyon has also been rested.

Read More | Digital Firm Gemalto withdraws report which claimed Aadhar breach

However, Mitchell’s elder brother, Shaun Marsh has kept his place in the side after a bad series against Pakistan. The team has also appointed two vice-captains in pacer Josh Hazlewood and Alex Carrey, the wicketkeeper.

Trevor Hohns, the national selector, spoke about the squad selection. “We have made the decision to manage Mitch Marsh and Nathan Lyon carefully to ensure they are in the best condition possible to put their hand up for selection either later in the summer or for the World Cup next year,” Hohns said.

Cummins back

Along with Hazlewood, the squad also sees the return of Pat Cummins. Cummins has not played international cricket since the series in South Africa. Nathan Coulter-Nile, currently playing in the T20Is against Pakistan, is also in the side and could play in his first ODI in almost a year.

Read More | Suspect arrested in connection with US serial bomb packages

Australia play South Africa in three ODIs and one Twenty20 International. The first match begins on November 4 in Perth followed by ODIs in Adelaide and Hobart. The tour ends with a T20I at a new venue, the Carrara Oval in Queensland.


Aaron Finch (capt), Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, D'Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa

For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Oct 2018, 09:38:02 AM