News Nation Logo


India vs Australia 1st T20: India maraud Australia by 9 wickets, continues its unbeaten streak at home against Australia in T20IS

Kohli, Dhawan Help India Chase Down The Revised Target, Beat Aussies At Ranchi. This Is India's 7th Win In A Row Against The Aussies In T20s.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Tahir Qureshi | Updated on: 07 Oct 2017, 11:05:01 PM

New Delhi:

This is India's 7th win in a row against the Aussies in T20 internationals. India continues its unbeaten streak at home against Australia in T20IS. After this win at Ranchi, India are 4-0 vs Australia at home.

Australia were restricted to a below par 118 total (18.4 overs) courtesy good bowling by the spin duo of Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav who pegged the Aussie middle order before Bumrah cleaned the tail.

Aaron Finch was the lone warrior with a fighting 42. 

Set a tricky target of 48 in 6 overs, India were dented early with Coulter Nile dismissing Rohit Sharma early. However seasoned campaigners Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli held their nerves to help India canter home with 9 wickets in the Kitty. 

India take 1-0 lead and the teams head to Guwahati for the second game.

Man of the Match: Kuldeep Yadav

Earlier, Indian captain Virat Kohli has won the toss and opted to bowl against Australia in the 1st T20I being played at Ranchi. Along with batting the hosts enjoy an edge in both pace and spin departments which complement their batting might.

Inclusion of Ashish Nehra and Shikhar Dhawan is bound to add more firepower to the Men in Blue.

India will look to maintain their dominance of the hapless Aussies in the three-match T20 series and pocket the shortest version 3-0 of which they are fully capable of as evident from the Tests and the recently concluded One-Day International (ODI) series.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah.

Australia: David Warner (capt), Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Dan Christian, Tim Paine (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Jason Behrendorff


David Warner and Aaron Finch opened for Australia while Bhuvneshwar Kumar will start the proceedings for India.

David Warner is bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar for 8, Glenn Maxwell is the new batsman. 


For all the Latest Sports News News, Cricket News News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 07 Oct 2017, 06:51:03 PM

Related Tags:

India Vs Australia