News Nation Logo


US expands travel ban to include North Korea, Venezuela, Chad

President Donald Trump Has Announced New Restrictions On Travel To The United States, Expanding It To Include North Korea, Venezuela And Chad. His Past Ban Expired On Sunday, 90 Days After It Went Into Effect.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 25 Sep 2017, 07:27:01 AM
US expands travel ban to include North Korea, Venezuela, Chad  (File Photo)

New Delhi:

President Donald Trump has announced new restrictions on travel to the United States, expanding it to include North Korea, Venezuela and Chad. His past ban expired on Sunday, 90 days after it went into effect. 

Muslim majority countries Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen and Somalia, from the past list, will continue to face the ban. But the new proclamation removed restrictions that were placed on Sudan.

The White House said the restrictions follow a review of information sharing by foreign governments.

Read | Donald Trump warns North Korea, says they won't be around much longer

Donald Trump issued a presidential proclamation late on Sunday."Making America safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet," Trump said.

The restrictions on Venezuelans apply only to government officials and their family members, BBC said.

Read | Travel ban on Muslims raises concerns of physical safety among Indian students in US: Survey

For all the Latest World News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Sep 2017, 07:24:49 AM