News Nation Logo


Nation View: Gorakhpur, Phulpur by-polls become a major set-back for BJP

The UP Lok Sabha by-poll elections, whose result were declared on Wednesday, witnessed the massive win of Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party. The coalition between Yadav’s Samajwadi Party and Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had proved fruitful for both the politicians. However, this major alliance had become a major setback for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath agreed that the loss in the UP by-polls is majorly because of the sudden alliance between the SP-BSP. SP’s Pravin Kumar Nishad won from the Gorakhpur constituency, while Nagendra Singh Patel of the same party won from the Phulpur constituency.

Updated : 15 March 2018, 08:51 PM